logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: can't get fastcgi file info
Author
ipso



Joined: 17 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov '07 7:50    Post subject: can't get fastcgi file info Reply with quote

I setup FastCGI on a test Windows XP box of mine and its working great with PHP5, so I tried to do it on a production server, and this is what I get:

Quote:

C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\bin>httpd.exe -t

Syntax error on line 126 of C:/Program Files/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/conf/httpd.conf:

can't get fastcgi file info: c:/php/php.exe(c:/php/php.exe), errno: 720997

C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\bin>dir c:\php\php.exe
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 90C4-74EB

Directory of c:\php
11/16/2007 11:49 PM 28,722 php.exe
1 File(s) 28,722 bytes

C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\bin>cacls c:\php\php.exe

c:\php\php.exe BUILTIN\Administrators:F

NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:F

BUILTIN\Users:R


Here is what I have in httpd.conf:
Quote:

LoadModule fcgid_module modules/mod_fcgid.so

DefaultInitEnv PHPRC "c:/php/"

DefaultInitEnv PATH "c:/php;C:/WINDOWS/system32;C:/WINDOWS;C:/WINDOWS/System32/Wbem;"

DefaultInitEnv SystemRoot "C:/Windows"

DefaultInitEnv SystemDrive "C:"

DefaultInitEnv TEMP "C:/WINDOWS/TEMP"

DefaultInitEnv TMP "C:/WINDOWS/TEMP"

DefaultInitEnv windir "C:/WINDOWS"

AddHandler fcgid-script .php

<Directory "C:/Program Files/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/htdocs/">

FCGIWrapper "c:/php/php.exe" .php

Options ExecCGI FollowSymLinks

AllowOverride None

allow from all

</Directory>


If I rename the wrapper file to something completely bogus that doesn't exist, I get a different but similar error, not sure if this helps or not:
Quote:

C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\bin>httpd.exe -t

Syntax error on line 126 of C:/Program Files/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/conf/httpd.conf:

can't get fastcgi file info: c:/php/php_does_not_exist.exe(c:/php/php_does_not_exist.exe), errno: 720002


Any ideas how to fix this would be greatly appreciated. It works on one computer, but not on another, it doesn't make any sense.
Back to top
tdonovan
Moderator


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 611
Location: Milford, MA, USA

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov '07 17:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

When an Apache error is caused by an underlying Windows error - you can find the corresponding Windows error message by subtracting 720000 from the Apache error code and using the Windows NET HELPMSG command:
Quote:
C:\> NET HELPMSG 997
Overlapped I/O operation is in progress.
C:\> NET HELPMSG 2
The system cannot find the file specified.


The "Overlapped I/O operation is in progress" error has many different causes - but it is usually a Windows problem, not an Apache problem.

If you have any "Event 1030" records in Event Viewer, you might want to read this Microsoft Knowledge Base Article.

The Windows System File Checker utility might help you fix this problem on your production server.

-tom-

p.s. Usually php-cgi.exe is the wrapper executable - not php.exe

-t-
Back to top
PipoDeClown



Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sun 19 Oct '08 21:29    Post subject: possible fix Reply with quote

i just found out that the "TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper" service should be running and suddenly it does work again!
Back to top
twosouth



Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 19 Feb '10 20:26    Post subject: can't get fastcgi file info / errno. 720997 Reply with quote

Hi:

I'm getting this as well on a Win2K3 install. I'm not having any luck getting around it.

can't get fastcgi file info: d:/php5.2.12_vc6/php-cgi.exe(d:/php5.2.12_vc6/php-cgi.exe), errno: 720997

Code:
Apache 2.2.14
(from http://www.apachelounge.com/

PHP 5.2.12 VC6 thread safe
(from http://windows.php.net/downloads/releases/php-5.2.12-Win32-VC6-x86.zip)

FastCGI 2.2b
(from http://www.apachelounge.com/download/)


From my httpd.conf file:
Code:
LoadModule fcgid_module modules/mod_fcgid.so
 
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
 
<Directory "d:/site_folder">
    FCGIWrapper "d:/php5.2.12_vc6/php-cgi.exe" .php
    {etc.}
</Directory>


Other considerations:

    - the TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service IS running
    - I'm not seeing any Event 1030 records in the Events Viewer
    - I have the Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package installed on the server (per instructions in both Apache and FastCGI packages)
    - Windows Server 2003 SP2
    - same thing happens no matter what version of PHP I try to use (VC9/VC6 ... TS/NTS ... 5.2.x/5.3.x)
    - same thing happens no matter what file I point to in the httpd.conf (php-cgi.exe, php.exe, php-win.exe)
    - Process Monitor tells me that the only thing touching that file is httpd.exe; there's no other process that's accessing that file as far as I know


Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer. I'm starting to plow through deadlines because of this.

tvg
Back to top
halfer



Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb '10 13:13    Post subject: Same error "can't get fastcgi file info" - WinXP, Reply with quote

Getting the same here:

Code:
Syntax error on line 73 of C:/Program Files/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/conf/httpd.conf:
can't get fastcgi file info: C:/PHP5/php-cgi.exe(C:/PHP5/php-cgi.exe), errno: 720997


I am running Windows XP, Apache 2.2.11, PHP 5.2.10, mod_fcgid and this has been working fine for six months or more. I suspect a Windows update or a corporate policy has been applied, since I have categorically not made a configuration change of any kind.

I've checked the TCP/IP NetBios service, restarted it, and it seems fine.
Back to top
halfer



Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb '10 13:25    Post subject: Reply with quote

I note that this topic is covered on this thread also. It mentions Active Directory permissions as having something to do with it; that would make a lot of sense here, as a new domain is being implemented around our WAN. I will try the advice on that thread, and will report back.
Back to top
halfer



Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb '10 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

NB I have posted a working solution on the other thread.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: can't get fastcgi file info View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules