Author |
|
timboellis1
Joined: 01 Jan 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue 01 Jan '08 4:57 Post subject: Deny allow dynamic IP |
|
|
I have setup a server and set the httpd.conf to Deny from all and allow from ip's
However as I am on a dynamic IP address is there anyway I can tell the server to let me in instead of the IP variable |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Tue 01 Jan '08 9:24 Post subject: |
|
|
Teeny bit more info
Server has a fully qualified domain name and on said dynamic IP? (assumed)
Connecting computer and server both on the same LAN? (assumed, but I hate to assume) |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 01 Jan '08 13:02 Post subject: |
|
|
Often ISPs have range of IPs. You you may allow a range like
Example for
Code: |
Allow from 192.168.50
|
An also working contruct would be a dyndns name. But than your visitors have to install a DNS updater.
Code: |
Allow from name.dyndns.org
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
timboellis1
Joined: 01 Jan 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue 01 Jan '08 13:50 Post subject: |
|
|
no sorrythe server has a static address but I will be connecting to it remotley and I have a dynamic address
the server is a localsever I built |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 01 Jan '08 14:01 Post subject: |
|
|
timboellis1 wrote: | I will be connecting to it remotley and I have a dynamic address
|
The IP range or the DNS updater should be on the client side (remote side) not on your server.
The Allow is for the client (e.g. browser) not the server itself. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Tue 01 Jan '08 19:27 Post subject: |
|
|
Well,
I hade a whole big thing for my assumtions waiting to post but that is over.
Options,
1. Allow your whole netrange of you ISP as James stated
2. Just allow from all and password protect
As far as Dynamic DNS on the client side, that's not a bad idea either, probably the best come to think of it. |
|
Back to top |
|
tombalak
Joined: 04 Jan 2008 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Fri 04 Jan '08 20:27 Post subject: |
|
|
from Apache docs
"
A (partial) domain-name
Example:
Allow from apache.org
Allow from .net example.edu
Hosts whose names match, or end in, this string are allowed access. Only complete components are matched, so the above example will match foo.apache.org but it will not match fooapache.org. This configuration will cause Apache to perform a double reverse DNS lookup on the client IP address, regardless of the setting of the HostnameLookups directive. It will do a reverse DNS lookup on the IP address to find the associated hostname, and then do a forward lookup on the hostname to assure that it matches the original IP address. Only if the forward and reverse DNS are consistent and the hostname matches will access be allowed.
"
Note the last sentence, it says "Only if the forward and reverse DNS are consistent". If you use dyndns.com as a domain name for your client and use dyndns domain for "allow from" field, this probably does not work. Because server gets reverse DNS lookup as isp defined one (i.e. dsl78.160-xyz.isp.net) that is not consistent with the one defined by dyndns (i.e. domainxyz.dyndns.com).
Does any one have a solution? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 04 Jan '08 22:26 Post subject: |
|
|
I didn't think about that problem I tried it out and it doesn't work...
Than you can only do as glsmith said:
Quote: |
1. Allow your whole netrange of you ISP as James stated
2. Just allow from all and password protect
|
----
edit: dyndns offers recursive DNS for about 30 bugs. Maybe usefull paid for you. |
|
Back to top |
|