Author |
|
kr33
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: South Africa
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 9:36 Post subject: Uploading Files using php |
|
|
Hi
I'm trying to upload files so that I can eventually import them into my MySQL database.
I've created a basic upload page, eg of an upload section
Php/html: upload.php
Code: |
<?php
session_name("name");
session_start();
//Check if authentic user
if ($_SESSION['authuser'] == 1)
{
?>
<html>
<head>
<title>Upload Page</title>
</head>
<body>
<form action="filehandle.php"enctype="multipart/form-data"
method="post" name="uploadForm">
<table width="270px" border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="2"
align="center">
<tr>
<td> <input type="file" name="file_to_upload" /> </td>
</tr>
</table>
</form>
</body>
</html>
<?php
} else {
echo "User not allowed to upload any files!";
exit();
}
?>
|
The above code is just segments of my actual code(for illustrative purposes)
Php: filehandle.php
Code: |
<?php
if ($_FILES['file_to_upload']['error'] > 0) {
$err=$_FILES['file_to_upload']['error'];
switch($err)
{
//Error conditions
}
} else
{
//Display filename
}
?>
|
Yet again, the above is just a code segment.
My question is...How do i correctly check that the type of file to be uploaded is the filetyp that i want and NOT any else?
I'm uploading only .CSV files.
Thanks
Quote: |
Every man has to go through Hell...to reach his Paradise
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 11:42 Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
/**
* Get the extension from file
* @param $file full filename
* @return mixed var
*/
function getExtension ($file){
$_file=trim("$file");
$getpos=strrpos($_file,".");
if(!$getpos)
return "";
$calc = strlen($_file)-$getpos;
return substr($_file, $getpos+1, $calc);
}
$ext = getExtension($your_input_string);
if(eregi("csv", $ext)){
//do the upload
}
else
{
// :-P
}
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
kr33
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: South Africa
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 12:58 Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks
It works perfectly, clearly I have lots to learn
Ciao
P.S.
You wouldn't hapen to know, how I would read in a CSV file, using SQL so that I can import it into Temporay tables and combine certain data and replace the main table with the new data? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 13:44 Post subject: |
|
|
To import csv file I asked google and found some nice on mysql.com page
Code: |
mysqlimport --fields-optionally-enclosed-by=""" --fields-terminated-by=, --lines-terminated-by="\r\n" --user=YOUR_USERNAME --password YOUR_DATABASE YOUR_TABLE.csv
|
from here
some other SQL statement here
google keywords : read csv php put in mysql |
|
Back to top |
|
kr33
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: South Africa
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 14:55 Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for that, its a real help.
How would I copy values, ALL values, from one field in a table, to a field in the SAME table, replacing the values in the destination field.
Basically, i need to do this because these are values that are needed monthly, so for example the two field names are
previous and current
they both have values, so in the next month when the data is updated, all the values in the current column have to now be moved to the previous column and the new data for the month replaces the previous months data in the current column.
Hope that made sense.
How would I achieve this.
Thanks again |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 15:08 Post subject: |
|
|
You should make a date field in the data row with now() (from MySQL) than you can select by the date or put the name of that month into it.
e.g.
Code: |
SELECT * FROM `mydata` WHERE `month` = 'may'
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
kr33
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: South Africa
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 15:20 Post subject: |
|
|
The data in the table fields are actual raw data, as in, integers.
So the field names is how i reference the values. So the values need to be replaced.
eg.
previous month
field name: PRO
row1 : 29192342
row2 : 12345678
current month
field name: PRO
row1 : 12345678 //row1 now equals previous months row2
row2 : 90112345 //row2 now gets replaced by the new data from my csv file
this would apply to only selected data rows.
is this possible? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 16:23 Post subject: |
|
|
Why replace? Here some schema how I would create that DB
[value1][othervalue][date]
e.g.
[00000001][12345678][may]
[00000002][12345678][may]
[00000003][90112345][june]
[00000004][90112345][june]
Did you mean rows or cols? |
|
Back to top |
|
Brian
Joined: 21 Oct 2005 Posts: 209 Location: Puyallup, WA USA
|
Posted: Fri 03 Nov '06 21:03 Post subject: |
|
|
I hope this comes across with the intention in which it is posted with ... LOL, just offering a little something I came across. First of all, I have never used or built a script that uploads files that are stored in a db. I do however have a multitude of sites with file uploaders that simply save the file.
I found this article, maybe it is also useful:
http://www.php-mysql-tutorial.com/php-mysql-upload.php
But equally important and not so much a matter of how the file is stored is security. See the info at:
http://us3.php.net/manual/en/function.is-uploaded-file.php
The fact is you want to be sure the file that was uploaded was the right file, and not a substitute file, regardless of how it is stored. I did not see any mention in this thread of security and while I am sure it was on the radar, I just thought I'd add this as it may be benefical to some.
Enjoy your day. |
|
Back to top |
|
kr33
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: South Africa
|
Posted: Mon 06 Nov '06 8:31 Post subject: |
|
|
Hey guys, I figured a way to swap values the way I wanted.
It may not be the shortest way/best way but it gets the job done.
I put it into a function, here it is:
Code: |
function swapUpdate($table_name, $col_name, $row1, $row2)
{
#---------------------------------[Get the data]-----------------------------------
//fetch data from first row
$sql_r1 = "SELECT $col_name FROM $table_name ".
"WHERE row_position = $row1";
$result_1 = mysql_query($sql_r1)
or die (mysql_error());
$row_1 = mysql_fetch_array($result_1);
$data_r1 = $row_1[$col_name]; //store retrieved data
//fetch data from 2nd row
$sql_r2 = "SELECT $col_name FROM $table_name ".
"WHERE row_position = $row2";
$result_2 = mysql_query($sql_r2)
or die (mysql_error());
$row_2 = mysql_fetch_array($result_2);
$data_r2 = $row_2[$col_name]; //store retrieved data
#---------------------------------[**********]-----------------------------------
#---------------------------------[Set the data]-----------------------------------
//Swap and update row1
$sql_u = "UPDATE $table_name SET $col_name=$data_r2 ".
"WHERE row_position = $row1";
$result_u = mysql_query($sql_u)
or die (mysql_error());
//Swap and update row2
$sql_u = "UPDATE $table_name SET $col_name=$data_r1 ".
"WHERE row_position = $row2";
$result_u = mysql_query($sql_u)
or die (mysql_error());
#---------------------------------[*********]-----------------------------------
}
|
All the above does is, gets two values from a specified table, from a specified column, then stores the values in temp variables and then updates the table with the values swapped (if that made any sense, but if you go through the code, u'll get it)
P.S. if you're wondering where row_position came from, its a field heading in my table.
Hope this may come in useful, if ever something like this may be need.
And if there is a better way of achieving the above, I'm open to suggestions.
Ciao |
|
Back to top |
|