logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: cgi access with PHP 8.4.5
Author
s.pellegrino



Joined: 09 Sep 2020
Posts: 4
Location: Marseille

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr '25 13:33    Post subject: cgi access with PHP 8.4.5 Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

With windows 11, PHP 8.4.5, Apache latest, I do a "classic" cgi vhost.

Code:
Listen 8181
<VirtualHost *:8181>
   ServerName   www.ok.com                <- mapped on 127.0.0.1
   DocumentRoot "F:/Sites/www.ok.com"
   
   <Directory "F:/Sites/www.ok.com">
       Options Indexes ExecCGI
      AllowOverride All
        Require all granted
    </Directory>

    DirectoryIndex index.php index.html

    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "F:/Sites/www.ok.com/"
   
   AddType    application/x-httpd-php .php
   
   AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
   Action application/x-httpd-php "E:/php-8.4.5-nts-Win32-vs17-x64/php-cgi.exe"
   
   ErrorLog  logs/www_ok_com_error.log
   CustomLog logs/www_ok_com_access.log combined
   LogLevel warn
</VirtualHost>



But on:
[url]curl http://www.ok.com/cgi-bin/test.php[/url]


I get :
Code:
HTTP/1.1 400 Bad Request
Date: Tue, 01 Apr 2025 11:32:54 GMT
Server: Apache/2.4.63 (Win64)
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1


Sad
What am I doing wrong ?

Thanls
Back to top
tdonovan
Moderator


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 614
Location: Milford, MA, USA

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr '25 2:57    Post subject: Action directive takes a URI Reply with quote

The second argument to the Action directive is a URL-path, not a filename.

You could copy php-cgi.exe to F:/Sites/www.ok.com/, since you already have a ScripAlias for it and permissions set by a Require directive; then change your Action directive to:
Code:
Action application/x-httpd-php /cgi-bin/php-cgi.exe

It might be better to create a new ScripAlias to E:/php-8.4.5-nts-Win32-vs17-x64/php-cgi.exe, set its permission with Require (inside a Location directive), and use this for the second argument. For example, if you call the new ScripAlias "/PHP-CGI" you could use this:
Code:
ScriptAlias /PHP-CGI "E:/php-8.4.5-nts-Win32-vs17-x64/php-cgi.exe"
<Location /PHP-CGI>
   Require all granted
</Location>
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
Action application/x-httpd-php /PHP-CGI
Back to top
s.pellegrino



Joined: 09 Sep 2020
Posts: 4
Location: Marseille

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr '25 9:24    Post subject: cgi access with PHP 8.4.5 Reply with quote

Yes, that's pretty smart...
Thanks for your help !
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7402
Location: EU, Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr '25 15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why cgi? It is pretty slow. You could use FastCGI.
Back to top
s.pellegrino



Joined: 09 Sep 2020
Posts: 4
Location: Marseille

PostPosted: Thu 03 Apr '25 10:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
Why cgi? It is pretty slow. You could use FastCGI.


Yes, you're right, but the client wants only that ! Smile
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: cgi access with PHP 8.4.5 View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules