Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Question about apache, found a way to ban Bad Bot, crawlers |
|
Author |
|
nightfly13
Joined: 07 Dec 2019 Posts: 2 Location: Portugal
|
Posted: Sun 08 Dec '19 1:41 Post subject: Question about apache, found a way to ban Bad Bot, crawlers |
|
|
Dear all...
My system is ubuntu server 14.04, Apache 2.4 with ispconfig3
On the last month i realize a big amounth of trafica coming from bad bots, like dotbot, SeznamBot, AhrefsBot
, and other fellows....
After search google i realize we can block them with the following code...
Go to: etc/apache2/apache2.conf
Code: |
SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent "^DotBot" bad_user
SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent "^AhrefsBot" bad_user
<Directory />
<RequireAll>
Require all granted
Require not env bad_user
</RequireAll>
</Directory>
|
But the problem i think is because in ispconfig3 i have a rewrite from HTTP to HTTPS... And this is the main cause for the above code do nothing...
One of experiences i made is the following...
I have for example 2 sites and the default apache page in /var/www
/var/www/html - Default apache file
/var/www/site1.com - Site1
/var/www/site2.com - Site2
I try to make a small experience block all sites on my server, for that i place in default apache2.conf in /etc/apache2/
Code: |
<Directory /var/www>
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride All
Require all denied
</Directory>
|
With this i expect to block all sites in my server, but i realize one default apache page is blocked and when i try to access typing the ip on browser i got the message
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access / on this server.
But the other sites (Site1.com and site2.com) si still can access with no issues...
With this i beleave the problem can be th HTTP to HTTPS rewrite set on ispconfig....
How can make the above code work for the sites with HTTPS rewrite????
I appretiate any help...
Best Regards
Joćo Carrolo[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
nightfly13
Joined: 07 Dec 2019 Posts: 2 Location: Portugal
|
Posted: Mon 09 Dec '19 23:00 Post subject: Not Working... |
|
|
Thanks for your reply...
I try all examples in the link and none of them seems to work...
If i type:
Code: |
curl -A "DotBot" example.com
|
I have allways < 301 Moved Permanently >, and this is not what i'm expecting... I Expect a 403 redirect...
I thinks is something wrong, and related with https, what i think is made an HTTP Post Header, and when i swith to HTTPS the ISPCONFIG3 is rewriting the rules and HTTP Post Header is lost because i'm in HTTPS....
This is one of the line in one of my logfiles
Code: |
xx.xx.xxx.xxx - - [09/Dec/2019:20:39:04 +0000] "GET /search/sShowAs,gallery/category,130/sOrder,dt_pub_date/iOrderType,desc HTTP/1.1" 301 577 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; AhrefsBot/6.1; +http://ahrefs.com/robot/)"
|
Like i told one of the experiences i made is....
I have for example 2 sites and the default apache page all inside /var/www
/var/www/html - Default apache file
/var/www/site1.com - Site1
/var/www/site2.com - Site2
If i try to block all sites with
Code: |
<Directory /var/www>
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride All
Require all denied
</Directory>
|
only the default apache site is bloqued with the message 403 Forbidden but the site1 and site2 still be accessible...
The code above should bloque all site inside /var/www
A small detail... Im behind a NAT...
Best Regards
Joćo Carrolo |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Wed 11 Dec '19 12:18 Post subject: Re: Not Working... |
|
|
nightfly13 wrote: |
If i type:
Code: |
curl -A "DotBot" example.com
|
|
Correct domain name? www missing? Does it maybe change to https? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|