Author |
|
stlord
Joined: 07 Oct 2019 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon 07 Oct '19 19:25 Post subject: TLSv1.3 on Windows server 2016 |
|
|
Hello.
I have weird trouble. Just installed apache 2.4.41 rc2 x64 on brand new 2016 server and got the error "SSLProtocol: Illegal protocol 'TLSv1.3'". But it's working on server 2012R2 without any troubles with same config. Where to dig?
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 08 Oct '19 9:59 Post subject: |
|
|
Are you sure you are using Apache with the correct OpenSSL version? |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Tue 08 Oct '19 19:11 Post subject: |
|
|
That was my first thought. OpenSSL must be 1.1.1 or above(in the future) and not 1.1.0 or 1.0.2. |
|
Back to top |
|
DnvrSysEngr
Joined: 15 Apr 2012 Posts: 226 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Tue 08 Oct '19 21:20 Post subject: |
|
|
What version of Apache is the config from (you mentioned you had another version running on Windows 2012)? I am wondering if it something in the HTTPD-SSL.conf file??? |
|
Back to top |
|
stlord
Joined: 07 Oct 2019 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue 08 Oct '19 22:04 Post subject: |
|
|
httpd-2.4.41-o102s-x64-vc14-r2.zip - this version with mod_ssl.so included. Downloaded from Lounge. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Tue 08 Oct '19 22:30 Post subject: |
|
|
That actually looks like an Apache Haus download by the filename. That o102s in it == OpenSSL 1.0.2. As I had said, TLS 1.3 requires OpenSSL 1.1.1+.
Apache Haus has those too, they are just not the top choice on the download page but the third, till the end of the year when OpenSSL 1.0.2 reaches it's end of life. |
|
Back to top |
|
stlord
Joined: 07 Oct 2019 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue 08 Oct '19 23:36 Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, thanks. I'll replace module then.
But anyway, I wonder then, how it could work on 2012 without any changes, just from the box? |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Wed 09 Oct '19 5:06 Post subject: |
|
|
The Apache on 2012 has openssl 1.1.1, it's that simple.
If the Apache /bin folder on 2012R2 has libcrypto-1_1-x64.dll & libssl-1_1-x64.dll, it has 1.1.1.
To properly upgrade Apache these files should replaced
bin\apr_crypto_openssl-1.dll
bin\libcrypto-1_1-x64.dll instead of bin\libeay32.dll
bin\libssl-1_1-x64.dll instead of bin\ssleay32.dll
modules\mod_md.so
modules\mod_ssl.so
And if you load php as a module (phpXapache2_4.dll) then it must be php 7.2 or 7.3. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 10 Oct '19 11:32 Post subject: |
|
|
Interestingly enough I have the same problem on my windows 10 pro at work, too
Code: |
<IfModule mod_headers.c>
# Header always set Strict-Transport-Security "max-age=15553000;"
# Header always set Strict-Transport-Security "max-age=1;"
</IfModule>
SSLUseStapling On
SSLSessionCache shmcb:C:/Windows/Temp/ssl_gcache_data(512000)
SSLStaplingCache shmcb:C:/Windows/Temp/ssl_stapling_data(512000)
SSLOptions +StrictRequire +StdEnvVars -ExportCertData
#SSLProtocol -all +TLSv1.2 +TLSv1.3
SSLProtocol -all +TLSv1.2
SSLCompression Off
SSLHonorCipherOrder On
SSLCipherSuite SSL ECDHE-ECDSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384
SSLCipherSuite TLSv1.3 TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256:TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384
SSLOpenSSLConfCmd ECDHParameters secp384r1
SSLOpenSSLConfCmd Curves sect571r1:sect571k1:secp521r1:sect409k1:sect409r1:secp384r1:sect283k1:sect283r1:secp256k1:prime256v1
SSLOpenSSLConfCmd SignatureAlgorithms RSA+SHA384:ECDSA+SHA256
|
As soon as I enable TLSv1.3 Firefox shows "SSL_ERROR_NO_CYPHER_OVERLAP". The exact same config at home with Windows 10 pro, too works. I assume the anti virus is blocking there something.
See the curl debug
https://gist.github.com/JBlond/26da83ef7a5fa9ca0d669c061de0f69a |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon 14 Oct '19 19:17 Post subject: |
|
|
I figured out that commenting out the following did the trick.
Code: |
SSLOpenSSLConfCmd SignatureAlgorithms RSA+SHA384:ECDSA+SHA256
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 15 Oct '19 8:25 Post subject: |
|
|
What does work is
Code: |
SSLOpenSSLConfCmd SignatureAlgorithms rsa_pss_rsae_sha512:rsa_pss_rsae_sha256:ECDSA+SHA512:ECDSA+SHA256:RSA+SHA512:RSA+SHA256
SSLOpenSSLConfCmd ClientSignatureAlgorithms rsa_pss_rsae_sha512:rsa_pss_rsae_sha256:ECDSA+SHA512:ECDSA+SHA256:RSA+SHA512:RSA+SHA256
|
|
|
Back to top |
|