Author |
|
paullee357
Joined: 22 Nov 2018 Posts: 4 Location: Texas, Austin
|
Posted: Thu 22 Nov '18 18:09 Post subject: Help Upgrading PHP 7.1+ from 5.6 |
|
|
We have a WP plugin asking us to upgrade to PHP7.1+ from 5.6. I have Apache/MySQL/PHP running on 2012R2 as standalone and not through IIS or XAMPP. I'm terrified to upgrade because I have everything configured the way I like including OpenSSL certs and worried I'll lose settings. https://dashboard.pagethink.com/test-php.php .
What is the best upgrade path for my situation. I am novice. |
|
Back to top |
|
maba
Joined: 05 Feb 2012 Posts: 64 Location: Germany, Heilbronn
|
Posted: Thu 29 Nov '18 10:23 Post subject: |
|
|
Your SSL config relates to Apache. Apache does not need to be touched.
Assumption: you have PHP 5.6 running as Apache module.
Code: | LoadModule php5_module "<some_path>/php5apache2_4.dll"
PHPIniDir "<somepath>"
|
----
Then just download PHP 7.x, unpack it to some path.
In your Apache "httpd.conf" file, comment out PHP5 (do not delete the lines).
Code: | # LoadModule php5_module "<some_path>/php5apache2_4.dll"
# PHPIniDir "<somepath>"
|
Add the lines for PHP 7.x
Code: | LoadModule php7_module "<new_path>/php7apache2_4.dll"
PHPIniDir "<new_path>"
|
----
Restart Apache
Check whether everything works.
If not. Try to fix the missing pieces.
If you can't fix it, revert to the old config and restart Apache. |
|
Back to top |
|
paullee357
Joined: 22 Nov 2018 Posts: 4 Location: Texas, Austin
|
Posted: Thu 13 Dec '18 0:31 Post subject: Thank you |
|
|
I have started. I'll let you know how it goes. |
|
Back to top |
|
paullee357
Joined: 22 Nov 2018 Posts: 4 Location: Texas, Austin
|
Posted: Fri 21 Dec '18 0:24 Post subject: |
|
|
It didn't work immediately and was able to toggle back to 5.6 to troubleshoot. You gave me the confidence to at least start.
In the end, I had to specifically call out the path to my ext directory.
Everything worked! |
|
Back to top |
|
harry2011
Joined: 04 Jan 2016 Posts: 5 Location: UK, Sevenoaks
|
Posted: Sun 10 Feb '19 9:20 Post subject: |
|
|
paullee357 wrote: | It didn't work immediately and was able to toggle back to 5.6 to troubleshoot. You gave me the confidence to at least start.
In the end, I had to specifically call out the path to my ext directory.
Everything worked! |
I’m trying to upgrade from 5.6 to 7.1 but having issues. I can’t get Apache to start with new lines in conf file for php7. I can toggle back to 5.6 and all ok but not with 7. What did you do exactly to get it working ok? |
|
Back to top |
|
paullee357
Joined: 22 Nov 2018 Posts: 4 Location: Texas, Austin
|
Posted: Sun 10 Feb '19 16:43 Post subject: |
|
|
There were some default relative path names that I thought should have worked. I made them absolute starting with c: and it started working. I'll take a closer look today when I go in. |
|
Back to top |
|