Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: sporadic 500 error when I type in URL without http:// |
|
Author |
|
Megunticook
Joined: 03 Feb 2018 Posts: 12 Location: Maine
|
Posted: Wed 13 Jun '18 18:46 Post subject: sporadic 500 error when I type in URL without http:// |
|
|
Lately I've noticed if I type my website's URL into a browser without the "http://" or "https://" I get a 500 server error. Not sure this is 100% consistent, but I've noticed it several times. If I refresh the page it always loads correctly.
Here's how I set up my virtual host configuration in httpd.conf. Is something off?
Code: | <VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot "/var/www/html"
ServerName swansislandcompany.com
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{SERVER_NAME} =swansislandcompany.com
RewriteRule ^ https://%{SERVER_NAME}%{REQUEST_URI} [END,NE,R=permanent]
</VirtualHost>
#SSL
<VirtualHost *:443>
DocumentRoot "/var/www/html"
ServerName swansislandcompany.com
</VirtualHost> |
|
|
Back to top |
|
mraddi
Joined: 27 Jun 2016 Posts: 152 Location: Schömberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
|
Posted: Wed 13 Jun '18 23:00 Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
maybe you can find some hints about what's going wrong within the apache's error.log.
Best regards
Matthias |
|
Back to top |
|
Megunticook
Joined: 03 Feb 2018 Posts: 12 Location: Maine
|
Posted: Thu 14 Jun '18 2:32 Post subject: |
|
|
I've looked at httpd_access_log and
httpd_error_log. Can't see anything suspicious, unless I'm missing something. There is a PHP error in httpd_error_log, involving a WordPress caching plugin, but I'm not sure how that could be related to this issue...or am I wrong about that?
Just noticed also that the server is timing out every time I try to connect MySQL Workbench to a database there, and Putty also times out trying to SSH in.
All the AWS EC2 monitoring indicators show all is well.
Something go haywire with the EC2 instance perhaps? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|