Author |
|
matrixebiz
Joined: 27 Sep 2017 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Tue 05 Dec '17 20:04 Post subject: Moving from Windows to Linux |
|
|
Hello, looking for some easy alternatives to programs I use in Windows before I make the switch.
1) What program can I use to monitor a Wine program and if it crashes then to have it auto re-start?
2) I have a batch file restarting the Apache Service when it crashes, do I have to worry about this with Apache for Linux?
3) I have a Python script running every 90 Seconds, do I have to create a Cronjob that runs minimum every minute?
4) Should I Enable Apache Event MPM;
https://scottlinux.com/2014/06/18/switch-to-or-enable-apache-event-mpm-in-ubuntu-14-04-for-http-connections/
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Wed 06 Dec '17 19:31 Post subject: |
|
|
to 1) and 2) Install apache as a service with systemd so the OS itself will restart the app.
for 3) see https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=36221#36221 PLEASE DO NOT POST THINGS DOUBLE
to 4) it depends on your needs and what you want to run on your server. |
|
Back to top |
|
matrixebiz
Joined: 27 Sep 2017 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Wed 06 Dec '17 23:16 Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
1) So since I'll be installing Debian 8 and systemd is the init system, I shouldn't need to worry about it then?
3) sorry
4) A Streaming Webserver - many users accessing many files simultaneously
How do I know if I'm using the mpm_worker_module in a Windows Apache installation? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 07 Dec '17 17:15 Post subject: |
|
|
Apache on windows always uses the winnt mpm. There is no other mpm available for windows
if you serve only static content like streaming you should use event mpm. |
|
Back to top |
|
matrixebiz
Joined: 27 Sep 2017 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Thu 07 Dec '17 18:17 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi James, it's a streaming server so content is always changing. How do I have it changed to use the event mpm and what settings should I use?
Also, what do these errors mean and how can I fix?
This is my mpm.conf;
<IfModule mpm_winnt_module>
ThreadsPerChild 1000
MaxConnectionsPerChild 1000
</IfModule>
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:22.738314 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 8536:tid 168] AH00354: Child: Starting 1000 worker threads.
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:32.677342 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 2220:tid 560] AH00364: Child: All worker threads have exited.
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:49.328681 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 8536:tid 168] AH00358: Child: Process exiting because it reached MaxConnectionsPerChild. Signaling the parent to restart a new child process.
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:49.328681 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 1340:tid 628] AH00424: Parent: Received restart signal -- Restarting the server.
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:50.219352 2017] [ssl:warn] [pid 1340:tid 628] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:50.250641 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 1340:tid 628] AH00455: Apache/2.4.26 (Win32) OpenSSL/1.0.2l PHP/7.1.7 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:50.250641 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 1340:tid 628] AH00456: Apache Lounge VC14 Server built: Jun 15 2017 12:39:41
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:50.250641 2017] [core:notice] [pid 1340:tid 628] AH00094: Command line: 'C:\\xampp\\apache\\bin\\httpd.exe -d C:/xampp/apache'
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:50.250641 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 1340:tid 628] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 3264
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:51.078805 2017] [ssl:warn] [pid 3264:tid 540] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:51.219445 2017] [ssl:warn] [pid 3264:tid 540] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Thu Dec 07 08:59:51.250697 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 3264:tid 540] AH00354: Child: Starting 1000 worker threads. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 07 Dec '17 19:33 Post subject: |
|
|
You can NOT change the mpm on windows. There is only one => winnt mpm. event mpm is for *nix systems only ( including debian).
Streaming is static content. Dynamic content is something like a script that generates the content on the fly.
Quote: | Child: Process exiting because it reached MaxConnectionsPerChild. Signaling the parent to restart a new child process.
|
set MaxConnectionsPerChild to 0 ( zero )
Code: |
MaxConnectionsPerChild 0 |
Quote: |
server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name |
that is not a valid SSL certificate |
|
Back to top |
|
matrixebiz
Joined: 27 Sep 2017 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Thu 07 Dec '17 20:10 Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, thanks for the info, so because;
www.example.com:443:0
is just what they use in the default code, I don't have to worry about this, correct? or am I supposed to create a valid SSL certificate and put the domain of my server?
I didn't use MaxConnectionsPerChild 0 because I read that if there is a run away then can cause issues and use up all the server memory leak hanging Apache but I guess I can just increase it to like 10000
Do you know what would cause this;
[Thu Dec 07 13:24:20.157731 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 18292:tid 488] AH00354: Child: Starting 1000 worker threads.
VirtualAlloc() failed: [0x00000008] Not enough storage is available to process this command.
VirtualFree() failed: [0x000001e7] Attempt to access invalid address.
Can't initialize heap: [0x000001e7] Attempt to access invalid address.
[Thu Dec 07 13:25:08.241626 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 12244:tid 616] AH00428: Parent: child process 18292 exited with status 255 -- Restarting. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon 18 Dec '17 22:55 Post subject: |
|
|
why :443:0 ??
You can use let's encrypt to get a valid certificate for free.
mpm_winnt so you are running apache on windows, not like the title says changing to linux.
However
Please remove you mpm settings ( make a backup or not)
and use
Code: |
<IfModule !mpm_netware_module>
PidFile "logs/httpd.pid"
</IfModule>
# WinNT MPM
# ThreadsPerChild: constant number of worker threads in the server process
# MaxConnectionsPerChild: maximum number of requests a server process serves
<IfModule mpm_winnt_module>
ThreadsPerChild 150
MaxConnectionsPerChild 0
</IfModule>
|
please report if apache runs with that. |
|
Back to top |
|
matrixebiz
Joined: 27 Sep 2017 Posts: 26
|
Posted: Sat 23 Dec '17 2:06 Post subject: |
|
|
Hello, yes, that's what I ended up doing. Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|