Author |
|
Steady
Joined: 11 May 2016 Posts: 2 Location: USA, PHL
|
Posted: Wed 11 May '16 21:04 Post subject: 2.4.20 no OPENSSL_Applink error |
|
|
Hi,
I haven't used abs in some time but trying to use it in the 2.4.20 release I get
OPENSSL_Uplink(000007FEDF828000,08): no OPENSSL_Applink
Does anyone else experience this error? I do have httpd running without any issues using mod_ssl.
Thanks
Ed |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Thu 12 May '16 11:25 Post subject: |
|
|
yep same error here. Never tested with the latest OpenSSL versions. Known error with OpenSSL, see https://www.openssl.org/docs/faq.html#PROG2
Please try:
Download removed, new abs.exe with Applink is now in 2.4.23+
Thanks for letting us know ! |
|
Back to top |
|
Steady
Joined: 11 May 2016 Posts: 2 Location: USA, PHL
|
Posted: Thu 12 May '16 16:02 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Steffen,
Confirming it works as expected, thanks for that quick fix!
Ed |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Thu 12 May '16 18:30 Post subject: |
|
|
Off forum I was told that AH builds suffer the same fate but I cannot duplicate.
Code: | c:\Apache24ah-2\bin>abs.exe -n 250 -c 15 -i https://localhost/:443
This is ApacheBench, Version 2.3 <$Revision: 1706008 $>
Copyright 1996 Adam Twiss, Zeus Technology Ltd, http://www.zeustech.net/
Licensed to The Apache Software Foundation, http://www.apache.org/
Benchmarking localhost (be patient)
Completed 100 requests
Completed 200 requests
Finished 250 requests |
So, how do I duplicate this to get the Applink error?
I have no problem adding the shim if needed but I have yet to see a need since mod_ssl never fails for me (or any of our users as far as I know).
EDIT: Or is this it?
Code: | Benchmarking www.apachehaus.net (be patient)
Completed 100 requests
SSL read failed (5) - closing connection
apr_pollset_add(): Not enough space (12)
Total of 184 requests completed |
|
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Fri 13 May '16 15:55 Post subject: |
|
|
I was using a VC9 build when I tested it first. I am surprised it works without Applink yet VC14 builds do not.
I also found that if built with LibreSSL it is also not needed even in VC14. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Sat 14 May '16 12:23 Post subject: |
|
|
openssl/applink.c is only required for VC14. The PHP guys ran into the issue when compiling PHP 7.0.0 Beta 1 switched to using VC14.
Their original patch is here:
http://git.php.net/?p=php-src.git;a=commitdiff;h=3d7343f609b81ebac95d94480a2615df530806e7
For abs.exe you could use something like this inside the #if defined(HAVE_OPENSSL) block of support/ab.c:
Code: | # if defined(_MSC_VER) && _MSC_VER >= 1900
# include <openssl/applink.c>
# endif
|
@Steffen: would it be an idea to make sure this patch gets included in the Apache httpd sources? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Wed 25 May '16 4:59 Post subject: |
|
|
Can I see the patch? |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 25 May '16 6:13 Post subject: |
|
|
YM the patch for ApacheMonitor? Sure. I tested this even yesterday, while compiling httpd with mod_h2 v1.5.6 in all the 6 variants.
Code: | Index: support/win32/ApacheMonitor.c
===================================================================
--- support/win32/ApacheMonitor.c (revision 1745423)
+++ support/win32/ApacheMonitor.c (working copy)
@@ -1586,7 +1586,9 @@
#ifdef UNICODE
__wargv = CommandLineToArgvW(GetCommandLineW(), &__argc);
#else
+ #if defined(_MSC_VER) && _MSC_VER < 1900
_setargv();
+ #endif
#endif
if ((__argc == 2) && (_tcscmp(__targv[1], _T("--kill")) == 0))
|
The patch for fixing the Applink error is here:
https://bz.apache.org/bugzilla/attachment.cgi?id=33886&action=diff |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 25 May '16 10:02 Post subject: |
|
|
Jan_E, your proposed patch with abs is:
+#if defined(_MSC_VER) && _MSC_VER >= 1900
+#include <openssl/applink.c>
+#endif
+
So applink is included also for ab.exe and when you do not use OpenSSL (like LibreSSL)
So better to add condition:
#if defined(HAVE_OPENSSL)
#include <openssl/applink.c> |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 25 May '16 10:15 Post subject: |
|
|
@Steffen: the added lines are already inside a block with
#if defined(HAVE_OPENSSL)
That block starts at line 159 and ends just after the addition. |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 25 May '16 10:34 Post subject: |
|
|
I see now. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Wed 25 May '16 18:45 Post subject: |
|
|
RE: Your apachemonitor patch, it needs to exclude from VC12 (_MSC_VER < 1800) as well
Also, I would like to retain VC6 compat as long as possible, IIRC it has troubles when the # is not the first character of a line but I deal with that if needed next time I build VC6. Anyhow, Apachemonitor is "non-unix, single platform" code and qualifies as CTR in 2.4.
This has been on my TODO list for awhile now, thanks for the push.
Commit to trunk: r1745516
Commit to 2.4: r1745517
I tried every possible way to get the setargv.obj included an no go until I created a static lib from it, then it gladly linked it all. If there's a way to figure out what the location of anyone's VC we could do this during a prebuild step but so far I haven't found a good way to find VC's LIB folder. I have an idea, just haven't tried it yet. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 25 May '16 20:58 Post subject: |
|
|
@Gregg: could you commit the on-topic patch as well? The one in https://bz.apache.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=59630
W.r.t setargv.obj: I just did a dir *.obj in VC14's lib dir. 24 files, some with intriguing names like notelemetry.obj.
There must be a simple way to link those files. A creative use of %lib% or something like that.
Code: | C:\php-sdk\php70dev>echo %lib%
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\LIB\amd64; \
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\ATLMFC\LIB\amd64; \
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\lib\10.0.10240.0\ucrt\x64; \
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\NETFXSDK\4.6.1\lib\um\x64; \
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\lib\winv6.3\um\x64; |
|
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Thu 26 May '16 0:31 Post subject: |
|
|
RE: Apachemonitor
I think I figured it out. After all I have a pre-build script I use to "do stuff" and it figures out what version of VC I am on and I can use that as a starting point. The Environment is your friend and looking at it again it's even friendlier.
RE: Applink
What about httpd.exe or mod_ssl, whichever? Then again it seems not to need it.
I would actually prefer to add it to the build than make that change to any .c file. I tried this method recently and it worked fine. This can also be targeted to abs.exe only, which is all that needs it. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Fri 27 May '16 18:09 Post subject: |
|
|
I think the problem was I should not have been thinking that day I came up with adding it to the build, then all VC version would get it. @ myself.
Commited to trunk: r1745767
Proposed for 2.4: r1745768 |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Tue 14 Jun '16 21:29 Post subject: |
|
|
Committed to 2.4 r1748449 |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 15 Jun '16 21:45 Post subject: |
|
|
But the discussion continues, I see. |
|
Back to top |
|