Author |
|
gtsongi
Joined: 06 Aug 2015 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Fri 07 Aug '15 11:04 Post subject: Apache process size is ~300MB |
|
|
Hello,
I was preparing to optimize my Apache configuration. While I was reading around I saw people mentioning Apache process sizes between 10 and 40 MB. When I've checked mine on the server I saw that they are at 300. Basically every running Apache process. What can cause this? Server and Apache specs are:
Server:
CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2609 0 @ 2.40GHz, 2 cores
Real Memory: 8GB
Virtual Memory 2GB
OS: Ubuntu 14
Apache:
Version: 2.4.7
Enabled Apache modules:
access_compat
alias
auth_basic
auth_core
authn_file
authz_core
authz_host
authz_user
autoindex
cgi
deflate
dir
env
filter
mime
mpm_prefork
negotiation
php5
reqtimeout
rewrite
setenvif
socache_shmcb
ssl
status
Apache settings:
Timeout 300
KeepAlive On
MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
KeepAliveTimeout 5
StartServers 5
MinSpareServers 5
MaxSpareServers 10
MaxClients 150
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
Can any of these settings or modules cause the process size to increase so much? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
|
Back to top |
|
gtsongi
Joined: 06 Aug 2015 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Fri 07 Aug '15 11:22 Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the quick reply!
I've tried to run check_httpd_limits, but it only gives me warning about a few missing config variables before exiting with the error: ERROR: Cannot determine httpd version number. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 07 Aug '15 11:51 Post subject: |
|
|
Argh! That is the ubuntu way of things to have the env vars in a different file that is only for the apache2ctl script.
what will work
Code: |
sudo su
source /etc/apache2/envvars
./check_httpd_limits.pl --verbose
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
gtsongi
Joined: 06 Aug 2015 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Fri 07 Aug '15 12:20 Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you! This worked perfectly.
I'm just a bit confused by the numbers it is displaying. For example: PID 21852 (apache2) : 25.49 MB / 5.58 MB shared
In Webmin the same process shows 378MB. Which one is the correct number? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 07 Aug '15 15:51 Post subject: |
|
|
I think that check_httpd_limits.pl shows the true usage.
the quickest way to check what is true.
stop apache
run free -th again. And see it for yourself how much memory apache consumes. ( Of cause don't forget to start apache again ;) ) |
|
Back to top |
|