Author |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Sun 07 Dec '14 2:27 Post subject: |
|
|
I removed the links to the 5.4 RC, because 5.4 will only get security fixes without any Release Candidate. Maybe there will be a last RC when 5.4 is really at end-of-life. |
|
Back to top |
|
jimski
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 Posts: 196 Location: USSA
|
Posted: Sun 07 Dec '14 14:59 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Jan-E, are your php_av.dll builds in those releases compatible with the latest version of ffmpeg?
In your last releases the AV extension was not compatible with the latest ffmpeg because ffmpeg renamed their dlls.
The latest versions of ffmpeg include avcodec56.dll while php_av.dll expects the avcodec55.dll and would not start unless the ffmpeg was downgraded to an older version. |
|
Back to top |
|
jimski
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 Posts: 196 Location: USSA
|
Posted: Sun 07 Dec '14 15:00 Post subject: |
|
|
The latest version of ffmpeg compatible with your last release of av was dated Aug 8 2014. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Tue 09 Dec '14 0:43 Post subject: |
|
|
jimski wrote: | Hi Jan-E, are your php_av.dll builds in those releases compatible with the latest version of ffmpeg? | Yes. I also updated the 5.3 and 5.4 builds. |
|
Back to top |
|
jimski
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 Posts: 196 Location: USSA
|
Posted: Fri 12 Dec '14 3:07 Post subject: |
|
|
Great, thank you. The AV extension seems to be flying under the radar but it looks like a very good addition to the php extensions library. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
jimski
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 Posts: 196 Location: USSA
|
Posted: Thu 25 Dec '14 9:58 Post subject: |
|
|
Right now I'm preparing for a beta test of a large multimedia website. I'm using ffmpeg the old way as a system call but this makes the code system dependent. Because I'm developing on Windows and deploying on Linux I always look for ways to make the code as much portable as possible and AV extension could be one of the ways to make video conversion code more portable. I also like the simplicity and again AV is simple and easy to use. |
|
Back to top |
|
C0nw0nk
Joined: 07 Oct 2013 Posts: 241 Location: United Kingdom, London
|
Posted: Sun 11 Jan '15 1:52 Post subject: |
|
|
jimski wrote: | Right now I'm preparing for a beta test of a large multimedia website. I'm using ffmpeg the old way as a system call but this makes the code system dependent. Because I'm developing on Windows and deploying on Linux I always look for ways to make the code as much portable as possible and AV extension could be one of the ways to make video conversion code more portable. I also like the simplicity and again AV is simple and easy to use. |
I run a few high traffic multimedia sites and my advice on this is be as non dependant on third party extensions and plugins as possible the smallest change can effect the way everything works.
If you take my advice on this make your code only need to use the imagick software via command line (not the php extension) and ffmpeg via command line not third party extensions. The problem when you reach large scale is you may find if these developers stop working on the extension or it becomes a loss / dead end unmaintained like so many in the past, future php versions will not use so you then have a new problem that you cant upgrade without rebuilding your sites infastructure all allot of work and with a high traffic site you cant put it offline to do so either. And depending on if you are a php developer or know what you are doing it could cost you either allot of time or money.
So all jobs and tasks i need to carry out i do so directly using the php exec function via the command line for ffmpeg, imagick etc do not rely on third party resources you are in for a world of headache if you go down that road. Use as little as possible stay as lite as possible and everything can carry out the same jobs and you learn a thing or two and realise you dont need to load up extensions that can be slowing down your php execution times causing memory leaks etc.
Generating thumbnails getting video time stamps lengths etc i do it all via php exec without any extensions and i even generate images without the imagick php extension just by using php_exec to execute the convert.exe via the command line and i create multiple formats scales thumbnails etc of images. It is very very easy you do not need these third party extensions. |
|
Back to top |
|
jimski
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 Posts: 196 Location: USSA
|
Posted: Sun 11 Jan '15 9:17 Post subject: |
|
|
C0nw0nk wrote: | I run a few high traffic multimedia sites and my advice on this is be as non dependant on third party extensions and plugins as possible the smallest change can effect the way everything works. |
Hey C0nw0nk, it is a good advice. This extension was recommended for inclusion into official PHP distribution, we will see what will happen.
Apart from this extension I have a question for you but let's move the discussion to the ffmpeg thread:
https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=5824 |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Sun 03 May '15 13:16 Post subject: |
|
|
Bumped the versions to 5.6.9RC1 and 5.5.25RC1. These builds as well as my other builds all contain cUrl 7.42.1 now. |
|
Back to top |
|
Smitty
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 197
|
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
Smitty
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 197
|
Posted: Mon 04 May '15 21:42 Post subject: |
|
|
I am still running 5.6.7 at the moment and was planning to upgrade to 5.6.8 tomorrow during some scheduled downtime. Thanks for checking the code and seeing that the patch is already included. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
Smitty
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 197
|
Posted: Fri 15 May '15 14:32 Post subject: |
|
|
Odd:
Just downloaded 5.6.9 and opcache is still reporting 7.0.4. Was there a regression? |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Fri 15 May '15 15:08 Post subject: |
|
|
If you look at the history of the 5.6.9 branch they made only one cosmetical change after 5.6.9RC1 has been made public:
https://github.com/php/php-src/commits/PHP-5.6.9
I guess we will first see the 7.0.6-dev in 5.6.10RC1 (14 days from now).
Edit: the merges contain a lot of substantial changes, for instance for bug #69453 that has been fixed on May 12. Seems like cherry-picking. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Mon 08 Jun '15 22:13 Post subject: |
|
|
5.6.10RC1 now says it uses Zend OPcache v7.0.6-dev. |
|
Back to top |
|