Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Run Windows App Under Apache |
|
Author |
|
mogulman52
Joined: 17 Dec 2014 Posts: 2 Location: USA, Dallas
|
Posted: Wed 17 Dec '14 23:43 Post subject: Run Windows App Under Apache |
|
|
Newbie to Apache.
I have been using IIS 7.5 on a Win7 32-bit computer. We moved to a Win7 64-bit machine and 1 app does not work. I am thinking of trying Apache 32-bit to see if that works. The script that is causing problems calls Office Word to create a document. Here is a simplified version of script.
Code: | <?php
if (is_dir("C:\Program Files (x86)")){
$runWord = '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\Winword.exe C:\userdata\tripq\trip-web\test.dotm"';
} else {
$runWord = '"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office14\Winword.exe" "C:\userdata\tripq\trip-web\test.dotm"';
}
$WshShell1 = new COM("WScript.Shell");
$oExec1 = $WshShell1->Run($runWord, 7, true);
$oExec1 = null;
?> |
On IIS you have AppPools and you can set an AppPool to run under a user account. I also set the AppPool to run 32-bit apps. Still doesn't work on Win7 64-bit. In Apache I need to something similar. I saw a posting about 'Allow service to interact with desktop'.
What is the recommended way to do this?[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 18 Dec '14 12:10 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
a sample code from PHP.net
Code: |
<?php
$word = new COM("word.application") or die ("Could not initialise MS Word object.");
$word->Documents->Open(realpath("Sample.doc"));
// Extract content.
$content = (string) $word->ActiveDocument->Content;
echo $content;
$word->ActiveDocument->Close(false);
$word->Quit();
$word = null;
unset($word);
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
mogulman52
Joined: 17 Dec 2014 Posts: 2 Location: USA, Dallas
|
Posted: Thu 18 Dec '14 23:59 Post subject: |
|
|
Actually got it working. It was fairly easy. Installed XAMPP. Set it to install as service. Then setup user account that can run Word. Then set service to run under user account. I can now automatically create Word docs and PDFs on server and pass links back to user. I spent a good 2 weeks trying to get this working on Win7/64-bit IIS. I set IIS to run 32-bit apps but it would not run. It works on Win7/32-bit IIS. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Sat 20 Dec '14 23:13 Post subject: |
|
|
Do you still use that script you posted above? Just curious |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|