logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: 2 httpd.exe process in Windows Task Manager :: issue ?
Author
rob



Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Stoughton, MA

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar '06 19:54    Post subject: 2 httpd.exe process in Windows Task Manager :: issue ? Reply with quote

Hi,

Does Apache 2.2 now create 2 processes in Windows Task Manager when running or am I doing something wrong. This is a clean install with no conf changes from your download area.

Thanks!

Rob
rob@baseclasstech.com
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 3092
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar '06 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, this is normal. Not different with 2.0.x

This Multi-Processing Module (MPM) is the default for the Windows operating systems. It uses a single control process which launches a single child process which in turn creates threads to handle requests


Steffen
Back to top
tukeshwarb



Joined: 28 Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Location: India, Pune

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec '13 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

As said in the above topic I can understand it is normal to have 2 process of httpd.exe in windows task manager.

But I am facing a issue due to this(I guess... not sure).

When i try to access a webpage from the browser, it doesn't load and will be in waiting state , but when i kill one of the httpd.exe process from the task manager page get loaded immediately. Also when i try to load the same page second time it gets loaded.

One more observation is that after second httpd.exe process RAM consumption reaches 10+ MB, server becomes irresponsible. And only after I kill second process or one or all the requests it become responsive. Is there any memory restriction for server ?

Version: httpd-2.4.7-win32-VC11.zip
Window version : Windows 7 Home basic, 64-bit, x86 architecture, sony VPCEG3AEN
php:php-5.5.7-Win32-VC11-x86, issue is with plain html as well, so dont think issue with php.
Database:MySql 5.6 (not sure)
Back to top
Anaksunaman



Joined: 19 Dec 2013
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec '13 15:11    Post subject: 2 httpd.exe Process in Windows Task Manager is Normal Reply with quote

To confirm (your confirmation of the confirmation Razz) two processes are normal.

For me, the first process stays at approx 300k while the second (child) process of the MPM handling the threads varies greatly with load.

For local access, single static (non-php) page requests, usage for the second httpd.exe process form me is about 4,000k. Testing with Apache JMeter (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apache_JMeter) and simulating roughly 50 users over a short time, yields 53,000k for the second httpd.exe thread process. I have almost the same setup as you (Win 7/x64 Home Premium, Apache 2.47/x32, PHP 5.5.7, MySql 5.5)

This is simulating approximately 50 user visiting the site in rapid succession.


So in short, while 10MB (10,000k?) obviously means the process seems to be generating about twice as much memory use for a single user as it should (indicating a potential problem), it seems within reasonable bounds as far a memory use in general is concerned. FYI, the 4,000k was fairly stable for single user cases in my own testing, even when directly streaming (admittedly optimized) web video on several open pages.

To be clear, at 53,000k, the server doesn't experience any slowdowns or hanging. I haven't done anything to optimize memory usage with this setup.
Back to top
tukeshwarb



Joined: 28 Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Location: India, Pune

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec '13 23:28    Post subject: Re: 2 httpd.exe Process in Windows Task Manager is Normal Reply with quote

Hi Anaksunaman,

Thanks for reply
Whole day I faced this issue and wasted all my time. Thanks God, now its working.
I have optimized my Application with pagination and after that i am not facing the issue.

My application was fetching 200,000 of the records from the server. This record has to be rendered by browser to display to user. And this was the point my Application was being hanged. At the same time when i was making another request from other browser, I was not able to get the response, but to my amaze, after killing second httpd.exe everything was working fine at least for few requests.
Now i am not to produce the same error again.

If problem comes again I will try to find the root of the issue and will keep posting.
Back to top
tukeshwarb



Joined: 28 Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Location: India, Pune

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan '14 21:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still facing the same issue, any help please???
Back to top
Xing
Moderator


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan '14 21:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think your your application is the bottleneck. Is there anything in the apache and php log and windows event viewer ?

Assume you have:
AcceptFilter http none
AcceptFilter https none
EnableSendfile off
EnableMMAP off
Back to top
tukeshwarb



Joined: 28 Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Location: India, Pune

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jan '14 9:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Xing for reply.
AcceptFilter http none //could not get this parameter in https.conf and php.ini
AcceptFilter https none //could not get this parameter in https.conf and php.ini
EnableSendfile off //commented by default
EnableMMAP off //commented by default

There is no error in server log and in php log.
My applications are very basic php application.
Tried to figure out the exact time when issue comes.
I observed as log as i am using Firefox and chrome..this issue doesn't come. After accessing webpages via IE9 few time server stops responding from none of the mentioned browsers. After closing IE I am able to get response from server.

Then to know where http request is lying, I used TCP-IP monitor. With TCP -IP monitor i faced the same issue as with IE9, regardless of whether request was originated from chrome, FF, or IE9.

I can see the http requests listed in TCP-IP monitor, but no response. For initial few request i got response as well in TCP-IP monitor just like in IE9.

Browser setting:
Chrome and FF: cache disabled,
IE: Check newer version of stored webpages every time I visit website.
Back to top
Anaksunaman



Joined: 19 Dec 2013
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan '14 10:38    Post subject: 2 httpd.exe process in Windows Task Manager :: issue ? Reply with quote

Agreed about the potential for an application bottleneck causing the server to hang on requests.

There maybe no good solution from the Apache side if this the case, except for possibility of switching out to mod_fcgid.

http://httpd.apache.org/mod_fcgid/

Code:
mod_fcgid is a high performance alternative to mod_cgi or mod_cgid, which starts a sufficient number instances of the CGI program to handle concurrent requests, and these programs remain running to handle further incoming requests. It is favored by the PHP developers, for example, as a preferred alternative to running mod_php in-process, delivering very similar performance.

Apache Lounge windows binaries for mod_fcgid
http://www.apachelounge.com/download/
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: 2 httpd.exe process in Windows Task Manager :: issue ? View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache