Author |
|
kingsley
Joined: 05 Feb 2013 Posts: 7 Location: Malaysia, KL
|
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
DnvrSysEngr
Joined: 15 Apr 2012 Posts: 226 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 15:51 Post subject: |
|
|
I have to ask, did you run the installer program?
When you run the installer it will create the mysql.ini file. Also, by default, it will install MySQL program into c:\program files\mysql or c:\program files (x86)\mysql |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 15:54 Post subject: |
|
|
Nope, still on the 5.5 bandwagon. |
|
Back to top |
|
kingsley
Joined: 05 Feb 2013 Posts: 7 Location: Malaysia, KL
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 16:18 Post subject: |
|
|
steffen, which one i should download?
Windows (x86, 32-bit), ZIP Archive
- mysql-5.5.30.zip
or
Windows (x86, 32-bit), ZIP Archive
- mysql-5.5.30-win32.zip |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 16:32 Post subject: |
|
|
Windows (x86, 32-bit), ZIP Archive - mysql-5.5.30-win32.zip
Steffen |
|
Back to top |
|
DnvrSysEngr
Joined: 15 Apr 2012 Posts: 226 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 16:55 Post subject: |
|
|
Hope my previous comment did not get misinterpreted. It was intended for the original poster.
I have been using MySQL 5.6 since it's development and have not encountered any issues. I am however only using it as a backend for WordPress. |
|
Back to top |
|
kingsley
Joined: 05 Feb 2013 Posts: 7 Location: Malaysia, KL
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 19:21 Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks to steffen and DnvrSysEngr, mysql is working now
Btw, i have also installed phpmyadmin (it requires username and password to login). Anyway can any of you explain here how to set password for root user either in cmd, ini file or phpmyadmin and what else i should edit in my.ini of MySQL?
Sorry, i just can't understand the documentation in mysql.com |
|
Back to top |
|
DnvrSysEngr
Joined: 15 Apr 2012 Posts: 226 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 19:25 Post subject: |
|
|
I have my phpmyadmin set up in the folder that contains my websites so that i can type in http://localhost/phpmyadmin
As for logging into phpmyadin, the username and password will be what you entered into mysql's initial configuration when you were prompted for a username and password to use for mysql.
Hope that helps.
- S |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 19:26 Post subject: |
|
|
Open the command line.
cd to mysql bin folder
type "mysql" as user choose root (if not choosen by default) as password just press enter since it is empty by default
than
UPDATE mysql.user SET Password=PASSWORD('MyNewPass') WHERE User='root';
FLUSH PRIVILEGES;
Replace the password with the password that you want to use.
done |
|
Back to top |
|
kingsley
Joined: 05 Feb 2013 Posts: 7 Location: Malaysia, KL
|
Posted: Tue 26 Feb '13 20:03 Post subject: |
|
|
James, seems does not work.
C:\Windows\System32>cd c:\mysql\bin
c:\mysql\bin>mysql -root -p
Enter password:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 8
Server version: 5.5.30-log MySQL Community Server (GPL)
Copyright (c) 2000, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
Oracle is a registered trademark of Oracle Corporation and/or its
affiliates. Other names may be trademarks of their respective
owners.
Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the current input statement.
mysql> UPDATE mysql.user SET Password=PASSWORD('secret') WHERE User='root';
Ignoring query to other database
mysql> |
|
Back to top |
|
CamaroSS
Joined: 24 Jan 2013 Posts: 78 Location: RF, Tver
|
Posted: Wed 27 Feb '13 7:17 Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | c:\mysql\bin>mysql -root -p |
Should be
Code: | c:\mysql\bin>mysql -u root -p |
Otherwise you just enable -r, -o and -t options |
|
Back to top |
|
kingsley
Joined: 05 Feb 2013 Posts: 7 Location: Malaysia, KL
|
Posted: Wed 27 Feb '13 17:44 Post subject: |
|
|
Thank guys, everything is working fine now
You guys are just awesome!! |
|
Back to top |
|