Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: How to start Apache in the background with batch files? |
|
Author |
|
Lisa Grant
Joined: 01 Dec 2012 Posts: 1 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat 01 Dec '12 21:11 Post subject: How to start Apache in the background with batch files? |
|
|
I'm trying to create a batch file that lets me start Apache and MySQL on demand.
Code: |
@echo off
cls
cd apache/bin
start "httpd.exe" /B /MIN "httpd.exe"
cd ../..
cd mysql/bin
start "mysqld.exe" /B /MIN "mysqld.exe"
cd ../..
|
Both Apache and MySQL start just fine but the window hangs at the end. If I click the close button on the window, MySQL sticks around but Apache is terminated. If I comment out the 'start "httpd.exe"' line, MySQL is started and then the console window closes immediately. I'm not sure what is going on. Since MySQL starts in the background, I'd think Apache would too.
I'm running the latest Apache Lounge binaries (2.4.3) and latest MySQL binaries (5.5.28) under Windows 7.
Any help/suggestions will be appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
rhossis
Joined: 30 Mar 2011 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon 03 Dec '12 8:58 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I suspect you should run this batch script by creating a local user account whose credentials you will then use to execute it; and not your main windows account which you log in with, to enable it to run in the background.
We have done this with PHP in a number of instances where we need to call PHP scripts in background on schedule to emulate cron jobs.
Regards |
|
Back to top |
|
rhossis
Joined: 30 Mar 2011 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon 03 Dec '12 9:56 Post subject: |
|
|
Correction, option in first reply is not valid answer for this problem. It is when running scheduled task in background
After trying i searched it, it seems that you should replace
Code: | start "httpd.exe" /B /MIN "httpd.exe" |
with
Re: http://tinyurl.com/d63huvp |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|