Author |
|
mrcullers
Joined: 16 Jun 2012 Posts: 22 Location: USA, Bradenton FL
|
Posted: Wed 27 Jun '12 9:37 Post subject: UPDATE: on Apache x64 / PHP x64 / Fast-Cgi x64 |
|
|
Ok, so I am all setup now and have found the issue as to what was causing the warnings thrown by PHP. The function '1' not found. Again, it was zlib compression not being found in the x64 php. Simply because I was using the standard issue php.ini which does not quite work well with this build.
I am making this separate post to be more on the subject of reporting that it seams to be working a little slow. As we all know phpMyAdmin is a very taxing application and when setup as a fast-cgi apache/php phpMyAdmin usually comes out blazing fast on a dedicated private/personal server.
I am setup exactly the same as any other setup and wow, quite a bit of wait time for page results. I am aware I am working with unproven software packages and didn't expect perfect results. But assuming I am kind of in a beta testers position I figured I should provide some feed back.
Let's put it this way, I am thinking of setting up a second apache x32/php/mysql parallel simply because I HATE wait time when I am writing code. Drives me crazy. I write fast and test fast and waiting for results I am so sick of, I now program from home on a home server just so I can have a setup that works at my desired speed. Meaning... that the results of the x64 setup is not going to be fast enough for me to use.
Unless of course anyone else out there has tried the same setup as I have just done and can throw some tips my way on what they have done to get this setup faster. One person on this board gave me a sarcastic best wishes with the x64 setup and know I think I might know why he did.
Any thoughts? |
|
Back to top |
|
mrcullers
Joined: 16 Jun 2012 Posts: 22 Location: USA, Bradenton FL
|
Posted: Wed 27 Jun '12 9:50 Post subject: |
|
|
Another interesting discovery. Again using PhpMyAdmin as a testing vehicle, I have 3 MySQL versions to work with.
+ 5.1.63 Old
+ 5.5.25 Latest
+ 5.6.5m8 Milestone 8
Again using PHP x64 with Apache 2.4 x64 and fast-cgi
The chart below depicts the actions and the results in PhpMyAdmin..
Code: |
Action Wait Time
-----------------------------------------
Change from 5.6 to 5.5 15 second load
Change from 5.5 to 5.6 5 second load
Refresh MySQL 5.5 7 seconds
Refresh MySQL 5.6 2 seconds?
|
Anyone have any thoughts on this? Is the newer versions of MySQL actually that much faster?
I have performed this test over and over and over and I keep getting the same results. I am using the same version of PhpMyAdmin every time. Just changing the MySQL versions I am connected to in PhpMyAdmin is all.
Very interesting? Any Thoughts?
...and, could I be getting these results because of some kind of issue in the php x64 build? Hummm |
|
Back to top |
|
Millennium
Joined: 17 Apr 2006 Posts: 179 Location: Leiderdorp, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 27 Jun '12 18:01 Post subject: |
|
|
If you suspect the php64 version, just try the php32 version. Mod_fcgid64 doens't mind starting the 32bit php-cgi.exe |
|
Back to top |
|
mrcullers
Joined: 16 Jun 2012 Posts: 22 Location: USA, Bradenton FL
|
Posted: Fri 29 Jun '12 2:45 Post subject: |
|
|
Millennium wrote: | If you suspect the php64 version, just try the php32 version. Mod_fcgid64 doens't mind starting the 32bit php-cgi.exe |
Cool, so I can use Apache x64, fast-cgi x64 with php x32 then?
See, this is why I became a posting member here. I tried the mix and match game and ran into a lot of problems thus becoming a member to solve them.
I remember seeing a post here that had the list of what can be mixed with what, shame on me I didn't put it on my favorites. |
|
Back to top |
|
Millennium
Joined: 17 Apr 2006 Posts: 179 Location: Leiderdorp, NL, EU
|
Posted: Fri 29 Jun '12 9:12 Post subject: |
|
|
mrcullers wrote: |
Cool, so I can use Apache x64, fast-cgi x64 with php x32 then?
|
It's what I run in production on Windows Server 2008 R2 64bit. Didn't let me down yet |
|
Back to top |
|
Dorre Breuers
Joined: 01 Jul 2012 Posts: 2 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun 01 Jul '12 12:23 Post subject: |
|
|
Dear Millennium,
you say U are running it on windows server 2008R2. I got everything working except fast-cgi.
Because there are a lot of topics on this question perhaps you could explain a bit more on how to install/configure.
I read a lot about it but everytime I receive a 403 in Internet Explorer (mainly changing the conf from apache). All the HTML files work fine and when I use the dll solutions PHP works fine.
Any idea's?
Kind regards,
Dorre |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7364 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
|
Back to top |
|
Dorre Breuers
Joined: 01 Jul 2012 Posts: 2 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon 02 Jul '12 8:39 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi James,
I tried this but still receive in Internet Explorer HTTP 403 forbidden.
Below the config I juse. I also changed the rights on the directory's like somen mentioned but nog positive result.
The guideline I follewd for installing APACHE and PHP was on:
http://www.sitepoint.com/how-to-install-apache-on-windows/#.T-7JlLXDQ3k
Kind regards,
Dorre
Admin note: httpd.conf removed, see forum rules. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7364 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon 02 Jul '12 15:39 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Dorre,
since the admin removed your httpd.conf you may post it on pastebin.com
How ever I think there is might an issue that your changed the documentroot, but not the path in <Directory ...> |
|
Back to top |
|