Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: How do I get my PHP page to show as web page on my browser? |
|
Author |
|
Fredashay
Joined: 22 Mar 2012 Posts: 2 Location: USA, Schenectady
|
Posted: Thu 22 Mar '12 1:07 Post subject: How do I get my PHP page to show as web page on my browser? |
|
|
Noob question coming at ya'. I'm a programmer, but am new to web development. I want to build a web site using PHP and MySQL. I just downloaded and installed WinLAMP under Windows 7 (I'll be using a hosting service when the site goes live, I just want to develop it locally). I then wrote a simple PHP page like this:
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>Hello</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<?php echo 'Hello' ?>
</BODY>
</HTML>
When I pointed my browser to it, it just displayed a blank page. Obviously, Apache isn't "serving" this page to me through my browser. When I try to start Apache, it tells me that it's already active. Do I need to put this page in some special folder under Apache? Or set some configuration setting in Apache so that it will display this page when I view 'localhost' in my browser?
Thanks for any help you can give me |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 22 Mar '12 10:37 Post subject: |
|
|
When the script is being displayed in the browser instead of actually processing the script, this is usually caused by the PHP file not having a PHP extension. Example:
phpfile.html
or
phpfile.php.txt
or
phpfile.txt
PHP files should have .php as the extension. Such as phpfile.php |
|
Back to top |
|
Fredashay
Joined: 22 Mar 2012 Posts: 2 Location: USA, Schenectady
|
Posted: Fri 23 Mar '12 1:43 Post subject: |
|
|
I have my PHP document saved as all of the following:
index.php
index.htm
index.html
I have all three of these documents saved in the following two locations:
C:/Apache2/htdocs
C:/My Documents/My Website
In httpd.conf:
.
.
.
DocumentRoot "C:/Apache2/htdocs"
.
.
.
UserDir "My Documents/My Website"
.
.
.
When I type localhost in my browser, I get:
WinLAMP, she installed successfully.
What do I need to do to get my test page to display when I type localhost in my browser? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Sat 24 Mar '12 13:19 Post subject: |
|
|
what happens if you open in your browser http://localhost/index.php can you see your test page than? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|