Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Some weird difference between 2.2.21 and 2.2.22 |
|
Author |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Wed 15 Feb '12 23:01 Post subject: Some weird difference between 2.2.21 and 2.2.22 |
|
|
Hello,
this is my first post regarding a problem I encountered today.
I have 2 machines running Apache.
1. Windows 7 Ultimate x86, Apache 2.2.21
2. Windows Server 2008 Enterprise x86, Apache 2.2.22
The strange part is that both servers display a website on a different way, and I was wondering what would be the cause of that, as I'm preparing to move all my sites to the server environment.
Please note: the websites are exact copies of eachother.
Code of the index.html
Code: |
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title>Bring Cargo B.V. - Intranet</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-type" content="text/html;charset=UTF-8">
<link href="/intranet/css/default.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
</head>
<body>
<div id="top">
<div id="header">
<img src="/intranet/images/bringlogo.png" alt="Bring Cargo B.V. Intranet">
<ul id="menu">
<li><a href="#" class="active">Home</a>
<li><a href="#">Helpdesk</a>
<li><a href="#">Nieuwsbrieven</a>
<li><a href="#">Handleidingen</a>
<li><a href="#">FAQ</a>
<li><a href="#">Links</a>
</ul>
</div>
</div>
<div id="line"></div>
<div id="center">
<div id="content">
<p>Lots of blablap>
</div>
</div>
<div id="footer">
Copyright 2012 Bring Cargo B.V.
</div>
</body>
</html>
|
Code of the CSS
Code: |
body {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
background-color: #fff;
font-family: Arial;
font-size: 10pt;
}
#top {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
}
#header {
margin: 0 auto;
margin-top: 10px;
padding: 0;
width: 1024px;
}
#header img {
margin: 0;
}
#line {
margin: 0 auto;
padding: 0;
height: 15px;
background-color: #7bc144;
}
#center {
margin: 0;
padding: 10px 0px 5px 0px;
background: rgb(226,227,228); /* Old browsers */
background: -moz-linear-gradient(top, rgba(226,227,228,1) 50%, rgba(196,197,199,1) 100%); /* FF3.6+ */
background: -webkit-gradient(linear, left top, left bottom, color-stop(50%,rgba(226,227,228,1)), color-stop(100%,rgba(196,197,199,1))); /* Chrome,Safari4+ */
background: -webkit-linear-gradient(top, rgba(226,227,228,1) 50%,rgba(196,197,199,1) 100%); /* Chrome10+,Safari5.1+ */
background: -o-linear-gradient(top, rgba(226,227,228,1) 50%,rgba(196,197,199,1) 100%); /* Opera11.10+ */
background: -ms-linear-gradient(top, rgba(226,227,228,1) 50%,rgba(196,197,199,1) 100%); /* IE10+ */
filter: progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.gradient( startColorstr='#e2e3e4', endColorstr='#c4c5c7',GradientType=0 ); /* IE6-9 */
background: linear-gradient(top, rgba(226,227,228,1) 50%,rgba(196,197,199,1) 100%); /* W3C */
}
#content {
margin: 0px auto;
padding: 5px;
width: 1014px;
background-color: #fff;
}
#bottom {
}
#footer {
margin: 0 auto;
padding: 2px 5px;
width: 1014px;
background-color: #fff;
text-align: right;
color: #bfc0c4;
}
#menu {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
}
#menu ul {
list-style-type: none;
}
#menu li {
display: inline-block;
}
#menu a {
display: block;
padding: 5px 10px;
margin: 0;
margin-right: 1px;
background-color: #717074;
color: #fff;
text-decoration: none;
text-transform: uppercase;
}
#menu a:hover {
background-color: #7bc144;
}
#menu a.active {
background-color: #7bc144;
color: #fff;
font-weight: bold;
}
|
Screenshot of site on WIndows 7 machine
http://46.144.117.162/intranet/images/apache-2.2.21.gif
Screenshot of site on Server 2008 machine
http://46.144.117.162/intranet/images/apache-2.2.22.gif |
|
Back to top |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Thu 16 Feb '12 0:03 Post subject: |
|
|
Wanted to put in some more info.
Just found out that if i only put the machine name as url, it fails
If i put in theip address, it shows correct
If i put in the machine name with local domain added, it also shows correct. |
|
Back to top |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Thu 16 Feb '12 11:31 Post subject: |
|
|
OK, I just figured out it's not so much of a difference between 2.2.21 and 2.2.22, but more a difference on how the server handles the request based on ip or localhost name...
Anyone has seen this issue before? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 16 Feb '12 15:52 Post subject: |
|
|
I've tested on both version, with the same result. Are you sure you using the same html and css code?
Disabled the cache in your browser?
Quote: |
but more a difference on how the server handles the request based on ip or localhost name...
|
Details?
--edit--
on the pictures I see different paths.
One it on the root / the other one is /intranet/ how do you compensate that? |
|
Back to top |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Thu 16 Feb '12 20:59 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi James,
first of all thank you for posting a reaction on my quesion.
I have figured out that the problem I have exists in both 2.2.22 and 2.2.21 as I posted in my last reply on my own question...
The problem I have is following:
When I access the webserver by typing its IP address (http://192.168.x.x), the website is shown correct.
When I access the webserver by typing the computer name (http://computername), the website is shown wrong.
When I access the website by remote hostname (http://www.domain.com) it is shown correct
When I access the webserver by its computer name followed by the local domain (http://computername.domain.local) it is also shown correct.
Is there a way that apache does some different handling? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 17 Feb '12 11:45 Post subject: |
|
|
You have to post your apache setup. If you using vhosts than post that. (not the whole config) |
|
Back to top |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Fri 17 Feb '12 22:30 Post subject: |
|
|
It is a clean setup, downloaded from ApacheLounge, no settings changed (except that PHP is installed)
Just to be sure: The difference between 2.2.21 and 2.2.22 no longer counts, I figured it is the way apache handles incoming requests.
Both versions have the same issue.
I am absolutely not a techie (yet), so my httpd.conf files are all default. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Sat 18 Feb '12 11:00 Post subject: |
|
|
polartiger wrote: | I figured it is the way apache handles incoming requests.
| Any details? If you don't tell it is like a black box, just guessing. |
|
Back to top |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Sun 19 Feb '12 0:17 Post subject: |
|
|
James Blond wrote: | polartiger wrote: | I figured it is the way apache handles incoming requests.
| Any details? If you don't tell it is like a black box, just guessing. |
To make it simple.
WHen I browse to the site using the IP address, remote host, or machinename followed by local domain, the site looks like:
http://46.144.117.162/intranet/images/apache-2.2.21.gif
When I browse to the site using only the machine name:
http://46.144.117.162/intranet/images/apache-2.2.22.gif
I blieve this is an apache related issue as it is the very same site every time. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Sun 19 Feb '12 13:34 Post subject: |
|
|
polartiger wrote: |
I blieve this is an apache related issue as it is the very same site every time. |
Gregg noticed some differences in the speed from apr 1.4.5 to 1.4.6, still investigating |
|
Back to top |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Mon 20 Feb '12 12:58 Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I did some more testing, and came to the conclusion that somewhere in my code something must be wrong.
I have installed the IIS serveice on the Server 2008 machine, and I'm experiencing the same issues with that...
Time to dig into my HTML and CSS code...
Sorry for the inconvenience...
edit:
seems to be a problem with the domain we are running.
WHen I try to connect to a hostname or ip address on a network which is not a domain, I don't get different results.
Will have to investigate this, so we can safely say this is not an apache issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
polartiger
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 8 Location: Netherlands, Dordrecht
|
Posted: Tue 21 Feb '12 12:36 Post subject: |
|
|
After a bit of testing I finally found the issue, it was the security settings of the browser.
When connected to our domain, internet explorer enables the intranet settings, which causes the page to load incorrectly.
I now have to find a solution to get this undone on the client computers and I should be good to go |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|