Author |
|
rkorebrits
Joined: 16 Aug 2011 Posts: 11 Location: Cape Town, South Africa
|
Posted: Tue 16 Aug '11 16:16 Post subject: The pipe has been ended PHP : mod_fcgid: get overlap |
|
|
Hi guys,
I have been looking around the web for the last couple of weeks trying to solve an issue we regularly have on our webserver, but without a positive result.
The messages we keep on getting are these:
Code: | [Tue Aug 16 16:08:20 2011] [warn] [client 196.211.1.82] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
[Tue Aug 16 16:08:20 2011] [error] [client 196.211.1.82] Premature end of script headers: index.php |
We are using FCGID 2.3.6 on Windows Server 2008 R2 with Apache 2.2 and PHP 5.3.6.
I have learnt that "Premature end of script headers" ofter is a result of files having the wrong character encoding, wrong line breaks or file permissions. In this case however, I dont know what it would be any of those... Is there some kind of way I can get a detailed report of this? Showing me the exact file contents and where the 'premature' end is?
After searching a lot I haven't found any decent help for solving my problem..
Thanks in advance!
Rich |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
|
Back to top |
|
rkorebrits
Joined: 16 Aug 2011 Posts: 11 Location: Cape Town, South Africa
|
Posted: Tue 16 Aug '11 16:56 Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks! I just did that before your post Let's see what happens. |
|
Back to top |
|
rkorebrits
Joined: 16 Aug 2011 Posts: 11 Location: Cape Town, South Africa
|
Posted: Tue 16 Aug '11 17:08 Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, no luck unfortunately after some heavy clicking I am still getting the same errors.
This is the recent error log:
Code: | [Tue Aug 16 17:04:57 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/wp-admin/network/sites.php
[Tue Aug 16 17:04:57 2011] [error] [client 41.193.23.10] Premature end of script headers: index.php, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/wp-admin/network/sites.php
[Tue Aug 16 17:04:57 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] mod_fcgid: stderr: PHP Fatal error: Cannot access property started with '\\0' in C:\\apachewww\\wp\\www\\wp-includes\\wp-db.php on line 1019, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/wp-admin/network/sites.php
[Tue Aug 16 17:04:58 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/wp-admin/network/sites.php
[Tue Aug 16 17:04:58 2011] [error] [client 41.193.23.10] Premature end of script headers: index.php, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/wp-admin/network/sites.php
[Tue Aug 16 17:04:58 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] mod_fcgid: stderr: PHP Fatal error: Call to undefined function \x10() in C:\\apachewww\\wp\\www\\wp-settings.php on line 78, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/wp-admin/network/sites.php
[Tue Aug 16 17:04:58 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/wp-admin/network/sites.php |
How can I further test or debug this? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 16 Aug '11 20:10 Post subject: |
|
|
Since it seems to be a single page. Can you please find out the shortest code that causes this? Than we could open a bug report and hopefully get a fix soon! |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Tue 16 Aug '11 20:20 Post subject: |
|
|
Anything in the php log for a clue ?
Also be sure that you configured mod_fcgid correct with the following: Code: |
FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "x:/xxxx-path to your php.ini"
FcgidInitialEnv PATH "x:/xxxx-path to your php folder";C:/WINDOWS/system32;C:/WINDOWS;C:/WINDOWS/System32/Wbem;"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemRoot "C:/Windows"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemDrive "C:"
FcgidInitialEnv TEMP "C:/WINDOWS/Temp"
FcgidInitialEnv TMP "C:/WINDOWS/Temp"
FcgidInitialEnv windir "C:/WINDOWS" |
Steffen |
|
Back to top |
|
rkorebrits
Joined: 16 Aug 2011 Posts: 11 Location: Cape Town, South Africa
|
Posted: Wed 17 Aug '11 9:57 Post subject: |
|
|
@Steffen; isn't the PHP log in the Apache log? That's where the PHP messages show up..
I have added the environment variables, the PHPRC was already set, the others i added.
@James; it is on any random page, but I was testing with the homepage with 8 diffrent sites (that run on the same system)
The latest messages I'm getting:
Code: | [Wed Aug 17 09:39:01 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/PholaBedandBreakfast/
[Wed Aug 17 09:39:01 2011] [error] [client 41.193.23.10] Premature end of script headers: index.php, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/PholaBedandBreakfast/
[Wed Aug 17 09:39:01 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] mod_fcgid: stderr: PHP Fatal error: Call to undefined function \xc4G\xf1\x03\xd8G\xf1\x03\xf0G\xf1\x03\x80G\xf1\x03() in C:\\apachewww\\wp\\www\\wp-settings.php on line 88, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/AubergeRozendalWinefarm/
[Wed Aug 17 09:39:01 2011] [warn] [client 41.193.23.10] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/JewelOn32JuweelStreet/rooms-rates/
[Wed Aug 17 09:39:01 2011] [error] [client 41.193.23.10] Premature end of script headers: ms-files.php, referer: http://wp.safarinow.com/JewelOn32JuweelStreet/rooms-rates/
[Wed Aug 17 09:44:23 2011] [warn] [client 66.249.71.142] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
[Wed Aug 17 09:44:23 2011] [warn] [client 66.249.71.142] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: ap_pass_brigade failed in handle_request_ipc function
[Wed Aug 17 09:49:09 2011] [warn] [client 67.195.114.236] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
[Wed Aug 17 09:49:09 2011] [error] [client 67.195.114.236] Premature end of script headers: index.php
[Wed Aug 17 09:49:54 2011] [warn] [client 202.160.178.201] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
[Wed Aug 17 09:49:54 2011] [error] [client 202.160.178.201] Premature end of script headers: index.php
[Wed Aug 17 09:50:52 2011] [warn] [client 202.160.178.205] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
[Wed Aug 17 09:50:52 2011] [error] [client 202.160.178.205] Premature end of script headers: index.php
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 17 Aug '11 12:13 Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like a php-issue. I assume a simple php is working like; Code: | <?php
phpinfo();
?> |
The php log is not the apache log, set your php log options in php.ini.
Steffen |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 18 Aug '11 9:29 Post subject: |
|
|
I'd like to reproduce this. I have w2k8r2 too. And I wanna check this out, cause for me it is working fine. Please post your config. Are you using the NTS or the TS version from PHP? |
|
Back to top |
|
cmatei
Joined: 07 Jul 2011 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat 01 Oct '11 23:01 Post subject: Same problem |
|
|
I have the same problem... (and the same configuration):
[Sat Oct 01 23:38:57 2011] [info] [client 192.168.0.50] (OS 10054)An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host. : core_output_filter: writing data to the network
[Sat Oct 01 23:38:57 2011] [warn] [client 192.168.0.50] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
[Sat Oct 01 23:38:57 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.50] Premature end of script headers: reordoneaza.php
[Sat Oct 01 23:38:57 2011] [warn] [client 93.116.177.170] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error, referer: ...
[Sat Oct 01 23:38:57 2011] [error] [client 93.116.177.170] Premature end of script headers: index.php, referer: .....
The problem arise at random moments. If I refresh the page works fine... |
|
Back to top |
|
cmatei
Joined: 07 Jul 2011 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat 01 Oct '11 23:30 Post subject: |
|
|
PHP 5.3.6 (cli) (built: Mar 17 2011 10:48:37)
Copyright (c) 1997-2011 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2011 Zend Technologies
with eAccelerator vSVN427, Copyright (c) 2004-2010 eAccelerator, by eAcceler
ator
in httpd.conf:
FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "C:/php"
FcgidInitialEnv PATH "C:/php;C:/WINDOWS/system32;C:/WINDOWS;C:/WINDOWS/System32/Wbem;C:/Apache2/bin;"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemRoot "C:/Windows"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemDrive "C:"
FcgidInitialEnv TEMP "C:/Temp/FastCGI"
FcgidInitialEnv TMP "C:/Temp/FastCGI"
FcgidInitialEnv windir "C:/WINDOWS"
FcgidIOTimeout 1800
FcgidBusyTimeout 1800
FcgidConnectTimeout 60
FcgidMaxProcesses 1000
FcgidOutputBufferSize 65536
FcgidMaxRequestsPerProcess 500
FcgidMinProcessesPerClass 0
FcgidProcessLifeTime 3600
Apache 2.2.19
Windows Server Web SP2 on 32 bits |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Sun 02 Oct '11 8:39 Post subject: |
|
|
I had problems with 5.3.4+ till I started using backslashes in the config.
FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "C:\\php"
FcgidInitialEnv PATH "C:\\php;C:\\WINDOWS\\system32;C:\\WINDOWS;C:\\WINDOWS\\System32\\Wbem;"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemRoot "C:\\Windows"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemDrive "C:" |
|
Back to top |
|
cmatei
Joined: 07 Jul 2011 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Wed 05 Oct '11 21:15 Post subject: |
|
|
Nope... it didn't work |
|
Back to top |
|
cmatei
Joined: 07 Jul 2011 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Mon 17 Oct '11 0:49 Post subject: RESOLVED |
|
|
Soved the problem deactivating the eAccelerator in PHP |
|
Back to top |
|
wm003
Joined: 24 Mar 2006 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Mon 17 Oct '11 9:09 Post subject: |
|
|
Are you using a x64 compiled version of eaccelerator (just because you say you are using windows 2008 R2) or the x86 version?
The x64 of ea really does not seem to work under x64 systems. i have the same problem. its a pity, but if you want to use eaccelerator under x64 system it seems you need to use a x86 version of php.
unfortunately the alternative wincache has memory problems even under x86 after some hours of work, so i have to use php without any caching on x64 (apache x64, php x64) aswell. i need to stay with x64 because we are using Oracle and the x64 oracle driver seems to be so much faster that i even don't miss eaccelerator (right now) |
|
Back to top |
|
maskego
Joined: 16 Apr 2010 Posts: 238
|
Posted: Tue 03 Jul '12 3:14 Post subject: |
|
|
I upgrade php 5.2.17 to php 5.3.14,the error message shows at error.log
It shows:(OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
Premature end of script headers: index.php
The os is 2003server 32bit and apache 2.2.22.
I use mod_fcgid 2.3.7 downloaded from AH.
I also try to use:
FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "C:\\php"
FcgidInitialEnv PATH "C:\\php;C:\\WINDOWS\\system32;C:\\WINDOWS;C:\\WINDOWS\\System32\\Wbem;"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemRoot "C:\\Windows"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemDrive "C:"
It get the same error message still.
"(OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
Premature end of script headers: index.php"
Is there any good idea to fix this issue?
The mod_fcgid 2.3.7 runs well under php 5.2.17 at the same setting environment. |
|
Back to top |
|
maskego
Joined: 16 Apr 2010 Posts: 238
|
Posted: Tue 03 Jul '12 12:29 Post subject: |
|
|
Is there any new mod_fcgid can fix this issue?Or it's the php 5.3.14 issue? |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Tue 03 Jul '12 12:49 Post subject: |
|
|
Look in your php eror log for clue's. |
|
Back to top |
|
maskego
Joined: 16 Apr 2010 Posts: 238
|
Posted: Wed 04 Jul '12 3:48 Post subject: |
|
|
There is no fatal error on php logs.
It shows at apache error.log only:
(OS 109)The pipe has been ended. : mod_fcgid: get overlap result error
Premature end of script headers: index.php
Is there any way to solve it? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Wed 04 Jul '12 17:21 Post subject: |
|
|
enabled the display of startup errors in php? Anything related in your windows event log? |
|
Back to top |
|