Author |
|
flatcircle
Joined: 27 Jun 2006 Posts: 79
|
Posted: Wed 01 Sep '10 20:55 Post subject: ThreadsPerChild - MaxRequestsPerChild settings |
|
|
Hello
I'm puzzled about those 2 directives.
Can I stick to the default settings for Apache MPM winnt:
ThreadsPerChild 64
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
Or can I adjust these (and how) to tweak performance?
I have changed ThreadsPerChild to 256 but I noticed no change in apache performance. Is a higher value better or not?
Regards. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7368 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 14 Sep '10 23:47 Post subject: |
|
|
The ThreadsPerChild is the number of simultaneous connection apache can handle. That is in most cases not the bottleneck. Often is the the OS. If not windows server the number of connection are limited. Or the limitation if a slow harddisk or not enough RAM.
MaxRequestsPerChild is the number of request the child process do until apache restarts. If you don't have crashes you should keep it to 0 (zero) which means it runs infinite.
One of the questions in my mind is: how many simultaneous connection does your apache handle? Do you serv only static content or dynamic? |
|
Back to top |
|
flatcircle
Joined: 27 Jun 2006 Posts: 79
|
Posted: Wed 15 Sep '10 16:01 Post subject: |
|
|
I'm testing the latest build (Apache 2.2.16) from this site.
I saw that those 2 directives aren't even in httpd.conf so the default is used:
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
ThreadsPerChild 64
I serve a lot of dynamic content. Is there any difference in the directives above when serving static content?
Regards. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Wed 15 Sep '10 18:42 Post subject: |
|
|
true, defaults are used. they are in conf/extra/httpd-default.conf
I've never needed to change them so can't really answer that. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7368 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Wed 15 Sep '10 22:00 Post subject: |
|
|
Increase ThreadsPerChild can help if you have a server OS and a lot of connection. For dynamic content you need a fast CPU with a lot of cores and a lot of RAM
Well to inscrease the speed it is recommend to serve the static content e.g. pictures / javascript / css from another subdomain. Cause the browser opens only 2 connections to a single domain. |
|
Back to top |
|
Kanashii
Joined: 17 Jul 2006 Posts: 155 Location: Porando
|
Posted: Thu 16 Sep '10 15:46 Post subject: |
|
|
My CFG max is 1920
<IfModule mpm_winnt.c>
ThreadsPerChild 1920
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
</IfModule>
No need server edition for windows need only Tweak TCP and some cfg
TCP stack can be change that in nmap show like FreeBSD
netsh interface tcp set global rss=disabled autotuninglevel=disabled
netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface "Internet" mtu=1402 store=persistent
netsh interface tcp set global ecncapability=enabled
netsh int tcp set global rss=enabled
netsh int tcp set heuristics disabled
netsh int tcp set global congestionprovider=ctcp
fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify
sc.exe config "AudioSrv" start= disabled
sc.exe config "wscsvc" start= disabled
sc.exe config "CscService" start= disabled
sc.exe config "WinDefend" start= disabled
bcdedit /set {default} recoveryenabled No
fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify
chkntfs/t:4
powercfg.exe /hibernate off
[REGISTRY]
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\Tcpip\Parameters]
"TcpMaxPortsExhausted"=dword:00000005
"SynAttackProtect"=dword:00000001
"KeepAliveTime"=dword:00007530
"TcpMaxHalfOpen"=dword:00000190
"TcpTimedWaitDelay"=dword:0000005a
"MaxUserPort"=dword:0000fffe
"TcpNumConnections"=dword:00fffffe
Quote: | Cause the browser opens only 2 connections to a single domain. |
Firefox is about 8 and chrome has more
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server" 8
For example map.google.com every image its on cnd
For small web page 8 is enough |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7368 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 16 Sep '10 17:11 Post subject: |
|
|
What are these services you disable? I can identify only Windows Defennder and Windows Audio. |
|
Back to top |
|
Kanashii
Joined: 17 Jul 2006 Posts: 155 Location: Porando
|
Posted: Thu 16 Sep '10 19:01 Post subject: |
|
|
sc.exe config "AudioSrv" start= disabled
Windows Audio
sc.exe config "wscsvc" start= disabled
Security center
sc.exe config "CscService" start= disabled
Windows Offline Files Service
sc.exe config "WinDefend" start= disabled
Windows defender |
|
Back to top |
|