logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Apache 2.2.15 & PHP 5.3.2, Windows XP: httpd service no
Author
murrayE



Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Amherst, MA USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul '10 17:33    Post subject: Apache 2.2.15 & PHP 5.3.2, Windows XP: httpd service no Reply with quote

I had had Apache 2.2.14 and an older PHP 5.2.x working happily together, supporting MySQL, phpMyAdmin, etc., on a localhost set-up under Windows XP Pro (SP3). I uninstalled all that and instead:

(1) Installed Apache 2.2.15 in a localhost config from httpd-2.2.15-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi (also tried the openssl version when the former + PHP didn't work). That worked just fine.

(2) Installed PHP 5.3.2 from php-5.3.2-Win32-VC6-x86.msi (thread safe), which php.net says to use, as I read its instructions. (It says NOT to use the VC9 version with apache.org binaries.)

Now the apache httpd service will not start. So of course I never got so far as to try a .php script in the browser.

Of course I put the correct entries in PATH and PHPRC. My httpd.conf was what the apache installer set up plus my changes in appropriate spots:
Code:
ServerName localhost:80
DocumentRoot "E:/htdocs"
<Directory "E:/htdocs">
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps


The PHP installer added to httpd.conf:
Code:
PHPIniDir "D:/Server/PHP/"
LoadModule php5_module "D:/Server/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"


The version of php.ini created by the PHP installer was minimal. I even tried commenting out all extensions and leaving just:
Code:
extension_dir="D:\Server\PHP\ext"
error_log="C:\WINDOWS\temp\php-errors.log"


Of course I rebooted after installing apache and after installing PHP, and after making changes to httpd.conf or php.ini, just to be sure.

I'm completely mystified as to what's wrong. Any ideas?
Back to top
murrayE



Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Amherst, MA USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul '10 17:25    Post subject: no apache service with PHP, even with PHP manual config Reply with quote

I retried everything after completely uninstalling both apache http and PHP, again using httpd-2.2.15-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi but this time installing PHP manually from php-5.3.2-Win32-VC6-x86.zip.

File httpd.conf is what the Apache installer set up plus my edits in appropriate spots:
Code:
ServerName localhost:80
DocumentRoot "E:/htdocs"
<Directory "E:/htdocs">
LoadModule php5_module "D:/Server/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
PHPIniDir "D:/Server/PHP"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps


My edits to php.ini are:
Code:
PHPIniDir "D:/Server/PHP/"
LoadModule php5_module "D:/Server/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"


I'm beginning to believe there's a fundamental incompatibility between Apache 2.2.15 and PHP 5.3.2.
Back to top
hwadler



Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 1:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://webdevcodex.com/tutorial-installing-apache2-php5-mysql5-phpmyadmin3-windows-7-vista/ seemed to help. I got apache and php to come up in my browser but am unable to get Dreamweaver's CS5 Live View or browser display to work.

I think I'll try an older version.
Back to top
murrayE



Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Amherst, MA USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 1:57    Post subject: Reply with quote

hwadler wrote:
http://webdevcodex.com/tutorial-installing-apache2-php5-mysql5-phpmyadmin3-windows-7-vista/ seemed to help. I got apache and php to come up in my browser but am unable to get Dreamweaver's CS5 Live View or browser display to work.

I think I'll try an older version.


Sorry, but your reply seems orthogonal to the issue I raised here:

(1) Cannot start Apache service.

(2) Windows XP, not Vista.

(3) Current versions are Apache 2.2.15 and PHP 5.3.2, whereas all the usual tutorials worked OK with earlier versions.
Back to top
hwadler



Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 2:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I wasn't clearer.

1) I was having problems getting Apache to install.

2) The headline reads Windows 7/Vista/XP, so don't understand your point.

3) Yes the current version is Apache 2.2.15 and PHP 5.3.2, and all the usual tutorials don't work for 2.2.15.

I am using Windows 7, Apache 2.2.15 and PHP 5.3.2. This tutorial sets up a virtual server and seems to work, but I want to use DW CS5 with Apache and PHP 5 and they don't work together.

Try looking beyond the headlines. I will refrain from further comments.
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 10:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to kind of agree
Faulting application httpd.exe, version 2.2.15.0, time stamp 0x4c2e6461, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x00000000, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x01a42471, process id 0x4a8, application start time 0x01cb1cdf20cd1b8a.

Apache 2.2.15 VC9
PHP 5.3.2 VC9 TS
Apache seems to start but dies seconds later with the above error.

I know you want 5.3 but if possible, use 5.2 till they get the kinks out of 5.3.

Or, another option would be mod_fcgid to run PHP. I could cough up a vc6 binary of mod_fcgid/2.3.5 if you would like. I do not get the above error and have use of php 5.3 going this route.
http://www.justmyspace.org/php532.gif
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7371
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 12:07    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder what is the difference, since I run it perfectly with apach 2.2.15 VC9 and PHP 5.2.3 VC9 TS. (Also with fcgid PHP 5.2.3 NTS works).

The only difference I see is the order of the lines in httpd.conf. You might test it with the different order!? Don't know if that solves it, but at least you could try.

Code:

LoadModule php5_module "c:/php5/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
# configure the path to php.ini
PHPIniDir "c:/php5"


Second idea are the loaded extensions and changes you made in php.ini. What did you change?
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 14:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

No change changing order
php.ini-production defaults, no extensions
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7371
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 15:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a bit wired. I made a new installation of XP Pro SP3 included in Virtual PC. Downloaded Apache 2.2.15 No SNI from AH and VC9 x86 Thread Safe (2010-Mar-04 20:11:10) zip from windows.php.net

I only tested phpinfo();

httpd -k install
httpd -k start
phpinfo();
httpd -k restart
phpinfo();
httpd -k stop
httpd -k uninstall

used no php.ini and php.ini-production defaults, no extensions


runs smooth like a baby butt
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 16:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok Chainsaw,

As a service, runs fine for me too, hadn't tried that.
Starting from command line I get the above posted error

weirdness
Back to top
murrayE



Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Amherst, MA USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
I wonder what is the difference, since I run it perfectly with apach 2.2.15 VC9 and PHP 5.2.3 VC9 TS. (Also with fcgid PHP 5.2.3 NTS works)....


Are you using actual apache.org binaries? Because php.net explicitly says NOT to use the VC9 version of PHP with them.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7371
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to reproduce? I'd like to know what causes the error, but without knowing what is going on its PITA.

I've seen the exception code 0xc0000005 before. it is the status 3221225477 error seen many times... Neutral


I tried also from command line. Just for the records double clicking on the exe I can use CTRL + C and CTRL + Break which doesn't work in trunnk build...
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote

No murrayE neither of us were using a.o binaries hence the VC9. Apache.org binaries are built on vc6, so yes you must use vc6 php if you are going to load php5apache2_2.dll. I will grab a copy from a.o and vc6 php later and see what I get with that combo.

Edit:

This combo works fine for me on Vista and XP SP3
http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/binaries/win32/httpd-2.2.15-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi
http://windows.php.net/downloads/releases/php-5.3.2-Win32-VC6-x86.zip

Please try starting service and right after it fails, check the Event Viewer and see what is in it.
Back to top
murrayE



Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Amherst, MA USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

glsmith wrote:
No murray, apache.org binaries are built on vc6, so yes you must use vc6 php if you are going to load php5apache2_2.dll. I will grab a copy from a.o and vc6 php later and see what I get with that combo.

Edit:

This combo works fine for me on Vista and XP SP3
http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/binaries/win32/httpd-2.2.15-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi
http://windows.php.net/downloads/releases/php-5.3.2-Win32-VC6-x86.zip

Please try starting service and right after it fails, check the Event Viewer and see what is in it.


On Application view: Faulting application httpd.exe, version 2.2.15.0, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x0074f1a9.

On System view: The Apache2.2 service terminated with service-specific error 1 (0x1).
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7371
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '10 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

glsmith wrote:
No murray, apache.org binaries are built on vc6, so yes you must use vc6 php if you are going to load php5apache2_2.dll. I will grab a copy from a.o and vc6 php later and see what I get with that combo.

Edit:

This combo works fine for me on Vista and XP SP3
http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/binaries/win32/httpd-2.2.15-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi
http://windows.php.net/downloads/releases/php-5.3.2-Win32-VC6-x86.zip

Please try starting service and right after it fails, check the Event Viewer and see what is in it.


I tested that too. But I had the error that mime.types files was missing. I copied that from the VC9 apache and than it worked. (Notice: I extracted the files from the MSI, so I hadn't to install it Wink )


With the missing mime.types files I also got that error
Code:

On System view: The Apache2.2 service terminated with service-specific error 1 (0x1).


@murrayE is there anything related in your error.log ?
Back to top
murrayE



Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Amherst, MA USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul '10 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:

@murrayE is there anything related in your error.log ?


error.log contains just:
Code:
[warn] pid file D:/Server/Apache2.2/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
Back to top
hwadler



Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul '10 0:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

hwadler wrote:

I am using Windows 7, Apache 2.2.15 and PHP 5.3.2. This tutorial sets up a virtual server and seems to work, but I want to use DW CS5 with Apache and PHP 5 and they don't work together.

Deleted/Reinstalled Apache and PHP, reinstall (this time without operator error) and all is working well.
Herman
Back to top
murrayE



Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Amherst, MA USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul '10 18:08    Post subject: Issue resolved: php_*.dll files elsewhere Reply with quote

The following seems to have resolved the issue: Thanks to a suggestion at Experts Exchange, I found additional copies of php_*.dll files in a separate Marvell MRU subdirectory of C:\Program files (from a monitor of Marvell RAID controller) which uses an embedded apache server. I uninstalled the Marvell MRU program. Now I can start Apache 2.2.15 service with apache loaded, as usual, as a PHP module with PHP 5.3.2. Even after removing my whole PHP tree obtained from the .zip and instead using the VC6 x86 Thread Safe.msi installer.

Curiously, the Marvell MRU directory was not on my PATH, so I don't know how or, indeed, whether really Apche PHP was finding it and causing the conflict.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Apache 2.2.15 & PHP 5.3.2, Windows XP: httpd service no View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software