Author |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 17:59 Post subject: |
|
|
thank you. i tried what u said and in the browser i get the index.html page with the nav bar. good. but when i click on Register i get the following url and page:
http://www20.search.rogers.com/search?qo=localhostindex.php&rn=1GpYgh0KUSIXPAa&rg=
so i'm not getting the register.php page. the path to it is correct in the status bar though. any clues? i have an nfts file system. checked drmwvr to set permissions .. i don't think i can 'cause ntfs. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 18:35 Post subject: |
|
|
Please kick me as I should have gone further here. I should have stated what I notice in these now, two post of yours showing this.
it looks like you are trying to go to a link pointing to
http://localhostindex.php
Obviously the domain name localhostindex.php does not exist, which is why rogers.com's search page is kicking in, in my estimation. Basically the / slash is missing between the localhost and the index.php
So let's test.
On that nav bar you are refering to, insted of actually clicking on the link
right-click on the link and
if using Internet Explorer choose "Copy Shortcut"
if using Mozilla/Firefox choose "Copy Link Location"
hopefully you are not using Opera or any others which I know nothing about.
now, paste that shortcut/link in your next post. |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 18:58 Post subject: |
|
|
http://localhost/register.php
the slash is there. but all php pages go thru index.php first then are sent to the clicked link.
hope this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 19:06 Post subject: |
|
|
this is the code from drmwvr:
<div id="Menu">
<a href="index.php" title="Home Page">Home</a><br />
<a href="register.php" title="Register for the Site">Register</a><br />
<a href="login.php" title="Login">Login</a><br /> <!--added slash to url.took out slash.--->
<a href="change_password.php" title="Change Password ">Change Password </a><br />
<a href="forgot_password.php" title="forgot password">Forgot Password</a><br />
this is just a guess but should i put a slash at the beginning of each link? |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 19:10 Post subject: |
|
|
caught me while I was editing prior post.
You shouldn't have to ... but it never hurts |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 19:55 Post subject: |
|
|
added plenty of slashes to different pages ..only goes to rogers.com
if i just add a slash to /index.php in the code in drmwvr i get a blank page ..means incorrect syntax i guess. |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 21:49 Post subject: |
|
|
windy wrote: | this is what i get when i go to the following:
http://localhost/index.html:80
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /index.html:80 on this server
do i have to set permissions .. how do i do that or am i being blocked. i know i have to set permissions when i upload to my isp's server.
i can get "hello world": |
here's my error log:
08] [notice] Server built: Jun 12 2008 20:46:28
[Fri Sep 26 14:04:58 2008] [notice] Parent: Created child process 3592
[Fri Sep 26 14:04:59 2008] [notice] Child 3592: Child process is running
[Fri Sep 26 14:04:59 2008] [notice] Child 3592: Acquired the start mutex.
[Fri Sep 26 14:04:59 2008] [notice] Child 3592: Starting 64 worker threads.
[Fri Sep 26 14:04:59 2008] [notice] Child 3592: Starting thread to listen on port 80.
[Fri Sep 26 14:05:28 2008] [notice] Parent: Received shutdown signal -- Shutting down the server.
[Fri Sep 26 14:05:28 2008] [notice] Child 3592: Exit event signaled. Child process is ending.
[Fri Sep 26 14:05:29 2008] [notice] Child 3592: Released the start mutex
[Fri Sep 26 14:05:30 2008] [notice] Child 3592: All worker threads have exited.
[Fri Sep 26 14:05:30 2008] [notice] Child 3592: Child process is exiting
[Fri Sep 26 14:05:30 2008] [notice] Parent: Child process exited successfully. |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Fri 26 Sep '08 22:20 Post subject: |
|
|
if i put
Code: |
http://localhost/index.php
|
i get the page.
forgot to answer that before. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Sat 27 Sep '08 2:36 Post subject: |
|
|
and that is working ... why it doesn't work on your links is a problem in the links, or in how the browser is interperating them.
seems strange no doubt. But Apache seems to be working properly. |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Sat 27 Sep '08 17:01 Post subject: |
|
|
yes, it is strange and annoying. i've come so far. i moved the files to a directory in C:/ would that matter. i took them out of htdocs ..'cause they didn't seem to work there either. do i have to add the directory to my path in the files: e.g. /webdev/index.php etc.? |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Sun 28 Sep '08 2:04 Post subject: |
|
|
so i don't seem to have a "variable path" is it c:/php5? i don't recall and can't seem to find it on your site. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Sun 28 Sep '08 23:39 Post subject: |
|
|
what "variable path"?
where did you install (unzip or installer) PHP to? |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Mon 29 Sep '08 14:19 Post subject: |
|
|
in system variables: should there be two entries? the following is all that i have entered:
Path C:\php5;%SystemRoot%\system32;
is the ending semi - colon what i should have also? |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7377 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon 29 Sep '08 16:51 Post subject: |
|
|
You have to set a semi-colon after every path, so it is correct to have ; after your PHP path |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Tue 30 Sep '08 15:12 Post subject: |
|
|
James Blond wrote: | You have to set a semi-colon after every path, so it is correct to have ; after your PHP path |
i stll can't get phpinfo.php. the code shows if i do a view source but no page shows up?
do i need to insert php here?
.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH
this is what i have for path:
C:\php5;%SystemRoot%\system32;C:\MySql\bin;
i know i've made a simple mistake some where and i can't figure out where! |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7377 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 30 Sep '08 17:41 Post subject: |
|
|
Mostly it works without that path variable
So please post what you have put in your httpd.conf for PHP.
Now there must be something like this:
Code: |
PHPIniDir "C:/php"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/php5/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Tue 30 Sep '08 23:10 Post subject: |
|
|
thank you for continuing to help.
here's what i have:LoadModule php5_module "c:/php5/php5apache2_2.dll"
#AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php php-source .phps
#Added line above could go much farther below in Addtype section.
PHPIniDir "c:/php5"
i just notice i have a firewall: its a local area connection one. what ever that is. i guess for my high speed. i tried unchecking it but i still couldn't get the website to work. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7377 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Wed 01 Oct '08 11:14 Post subject: |
|
|
You need to re move the #
so
#AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
becomes
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
don't forget to restart apache. |
|
Back to top |
|
windy
Joined: 19 Sep 2008 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed 01 Oct '08 13:54 Post subject: |
|
|
still won't work. click on links in nav bar and it goes to isp search page |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7377 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Wed 01 Oct '08 15:04 Post subject: |
|
|
Please also view Basic PHP Troubleshooting
If you still have a question please ask again. |
|
Back to top |
|