Author |
|
pedro2k
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Sun 29 Oct '06 9:33 Post subject: Java scripts working on Apache |
|
|
Hi there!
I have put this code into a html document and tried to view it through apache and all i get it a blank screen!
I have the Jave development kit installed on the server, but i might have doen something wrong!!!
Or do i have to actiate something in apache?
So any suggestions would be very helpful!
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="javascript">
var width = screen.width
var hieght = screen.height
document.write("<B>You're set to "+width+ "x" +height+"</B>")
</SCRIPT> |
|
Back to top |
|
Jorge
Joined: 12 Mar 2006 Posts: 376 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Sun 29 Oct '06 11:06 Post subject: |
|
|
javascript is client side, nothing is needed at the server end.
PS: javascript NEQ java!
Luckly for you I know what is wrong
Code: |
<script type="text/javascript">
var sW = screen.width;
var sH = screen.height;
document.write("Your resolution is <B>" + sW + "x" + sH + "</B>");
</script> |
Never use language="javascript" use type="text/javascript" instead.
the variables height and width aren't allowed. use something else (sW and sH) |
|
Back to top |
|
pedro2k
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Sun 29 Oct '06 12:34 Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you so much!!!
I wasn't to sure on whether Java was server or client side!
Now thats sorted there is a chance i can get more working!!!
Just out of interest why do you use type="text/javascript"??
As you can possibly tell I am new to this stuff, i am just getting my head arond HTML and now i am working on PHP. MYSQL and JAVA and i am trying to learn as much as i can!!!
Thanks
Pedro |
|
Back to top |
|
Brian
Joined: 21 Oct 2005 Posts: 209 Location: Puyallup, WA USA
|
Posted: Mon 30 Oct '06 6:40 Post subject: |
|
|
JavaScript wont work on my workstation by default. I use FF and have the NoScript plugin. So I must manually per site either permanently or temporarily authorize JS for each domain.
This is a pain but it is so much more secure!
So while I am in the minority, those sites the depend on JS for the little extra's, may suffer if the client does not accept the JS. Just a little note about JS. That is exactly why all my projects that require user form submition get both client side and server side validation |
|
Back to top |
|
Jorge
Joined: 12 Mar 2006 Posts: 376 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon 30 Oct '06 13:30 Post subject: |
|
|
pedro2k wrote: | Thank you so much!!!
I wasn't to sure on whether Java was server or client side!
Now thats sorted there is a chance i can get more working!!!
Just out of interest why do you use type="text/javascript"??
As you can possibly tell I am new to this stuff, i am just getting my head arond HTML and now i am working on PHP. MYSQL and JAVA and i am trying to learn as much as i can!!!
Thanks
Pedro |
Why i use type="text/javascript"?
Simple, there are money revisions of javascript, if you use the language attribute you can specifie the version aswel, some browser will ignor it so i use type="text/javascript" most browser support the latest version. |
|
Back to top |
|