Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: MySQL - INSERT INTO???? |
|
Author |
|
kr33
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: South Africa
|
Posted: Fri 22 Sep '06 11:30 Post subject: MySQL - INSERT INTO???? |
|
|
Hi
I've recently written a php script to create a new database, create tables for the database, to populate the database with data into each of the respective tables and then query and retrieve the info.
My script successfully creates the database and tables. But it does not populate the tables completely, I have three tables to be exact and only the first table is populated with data, not the rest. Which in turn causes the retrieval of the data to fail. I don't get ANY error messages at all!!!
I'm using the root user name and password to access MySQL. So I have FULL access and rights to ALL functions etc.
Please help
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 22 Sep '06 13:54 Post subject: |
|
|
Can you post the first line (insert) from the three tables? |
|
Back to top |
|
kr33
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: South Africa
|
Posted: Fri 22 Sep '06 16:06 Post subject: |
|
|
well this is what I have
Code: |
$insert = INSERT INTO movie (movie_id, movie_name, movie_type," .
"movie_year, movie_leadactor, movie_director)".
"VALUES (1, 'XMen', 5, 2003, 1, 2),".
"(2,'King Authur',5,2001,2)";
|
Now there are three different tables, this would be the first table, which gets populated, but the others remain empty
Why? And what do I do?
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 22 Sep '06 16:37 Post subject: |
|
|
Aftrer creation of the table your SQL should look like
Code: |
$insert = "
INSERT INTO `movie` VALUES (1, 'XMen', 5, 2003, 1, 2);
INSERT INTO `movie` VALUES (2,'King Authur', 5, 2001, 2,'');
";
|
On the seconds INSERT INTO you forget a value so the last one are two singele quotes.
To fill up your DB that way is very uneffectiv. Use phpMyAdmin. That will be easier. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|