Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: HTTP2 broke my directory indexes |
|
Author |
|
doonze
Joined: 14 Jan 2018 Posts: 3 Location: Bella Vista
|
Posted: Sun 14 Jan '18 15:11 Post subject: HTTP2 broke my directory indexes |
|
|
So tonight I got around to enabling HTTP2 across my server. Everything was fine till I went to my pages that serves up indexed folders. They all broke. Here's my setup:
Debian 9.2
Apache 2.4.25
As a test I changed my:
Code: | Protocols h2 http/1.1 |
to
and everything started working again. Here is my current VS that's hosting these indexes but not working:
Code: | <VirtualHost *:443>
SSLEngine On
SSLProtocol all -SSLv2 -SSLv3
SSLCertificateFile /etc/letsencrypt/live/xxxxxx/fullchain.pem
SSLCertificateKeyFile /etc/letsencrypt/live/xxxxxxxxxx/privkey.pem
ServerAdmin sysadmin@xxxxxxx
ServerName server.xxxxxxx.xxx
DocumentRoot /var/www/html/
Protocols h2 http/1.1
ServerSignature Off
LogLevel warn
ErrorLog /var/log/xxxxxxx
CustomLog /var/log/xxxxxxxx combined
<Directory /mnt/mybook/media>
AuthType Basic
AuthName "Restricted Files"
AuthUserFile xxxxxxxx.htpasswd
Require valid-user
AllowOverride all
ErrorDocument 401 /errors/index401.html
</Directory>
Alias "/movies" "/mnt/mybook/media/Movies"
Alias "/tv" "/mnt/mybook/media/Series"
Alias "/music" "/mnt/mybook/media/Music"
Alias "/share" "/mnt/mybook/media/Share"
</VirtualHost> |
I have .htaccess files controlling the indexing headers, options, and details for each directory. The indexes are all those Alias paths there at the bottom.
Chrome tells me "This site can’t be reached"
Firefox is a bit more verbos:
Code: | Secure Connection Failed
The connection to home.doonze.net was interrupted while the page was loading.
The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified. |
So, what do you guys think? Google and searches here have giving me nothing. Help!!
Last edited by doonze on Sun 14 Jan '18 23:19; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3094 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Sun 14 Jan '18 15:24 Post subject: |
|
|
Sure you have: LoadModule http2_module modules/mod_http2.so ?
btw.
Since 2.4.25 there are quite some changes with mod_http2, around that time we had 1.8.6 now we have with 2.4.29 version 1.10.12, see https://github.com/icing/mod_h2/releases
Maybe you can upgrade and try again. |
|
Back to top |
|
doonze
Joined: 14 Jan 2018 Posts: 3 Location: Bella Vista
|
Posted: Mon 15 Jan '18 0:03 Post subject: |
|
|
After considering my options I just turned off H2 for that one VS. It used to be my main VS for my entire site, but all that's left in it anymore is those Indexes.
I really don't want to wander out of LTS on this server. And while I know it will be a long time till Debian upgrades Apache, if this is the only issue I have I'll live with it. I'll report it as a bug to the HTTP2 guys and go from there.
I had been hoping someone else had seen this, and there was some setting or flag I could throw to resolve it. But it seems I'm the only one hitting this issue.
If anyone has any other ideas let me know. |
|
Back to top |
|
nono303
Joined: 20 Dec 2016 Posts: 205 Location: Lille, FR, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
doonze
Joined: 14 Jan 2018 Posts: 3 Location: Bella Vista
|
Posted: Sat 20 Jan '18 10:19 Post subject: |
|
|
I hadn't, but I had been talking to them over there. Turns out I had figured out that was EXACTLY my issue, I just didn't know why. I'm surprised he hadn't jumped on it as my issue right away. Maybe since they've updated and fixed it since then he forgot??
Anyway, just as you linked, my problem was with apache mangling the header when you specified a custom header. I didn't do the research to find out what it was mangling, but the HTML was ok. HTTP2 is much more picky on headers.
I was able to use CSS to achieve what I was using my customer header for, so as far as that went, problem solved.
It seems they have since fixed the problem with HTTP2 and the custom headers, but I'm betting my Debian installation doesn't have the update. I have not been able to figure out what version of HTTP2 I have to verify.
I've since started deploying a php project to replace apache indexing anyway. That way I have more control.
Thanks for the help guys!! Your post would have given me my answer if I hadn't of already figured it out. I just started playing with settings, that's how I discovered where the problem was.
Sorry it took so long to post back up. I've been buried in projects for my website and hadn't reported back. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|