Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Basic question - Apache configuration - Default web page |
|
Author |
|
Empulak
Joined: 09 Oct 2015 Posts: 1 Location: Benešov
|
Posted: Sun 24 Jan '16 19:45 Post subject: Basic question - Apache configuration - Default web page |
|
|
Hello,
i am sorry for my amateur question.
I have few webpages on my Apache server. I use virtual hosts configuration.
In my config files is:
servername siteA
servername siteB
servername siteC
..
But if somebody access server by IP.. siteA is showed.
How to show Default Apache webpage? |
|
Back to top |
|
DnvrSysEngr
Joined: 15 Apr 2012 Posts: 226 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Mon 25 Jan '16 2:58 Post subject: |
|
|
I too have vhosts up and running for 4 different sites. I have this in my httpd.conf
# DocumentRoot: The directory out of which you will serve your documents. By default, all requests are taken from this
# directory, but symbolic links and aliases may be used to point to other locations.
#
DocumentRoot "${SRVROOT}/WEBSites"
<Directory "${SRVROOT}/WEBSites">
# DirectoryIndex: sets the file that Apache will serve if a directory is requested.
#
<IfModule dir_module>
DirectoryIndex index.htm
</IfModule>
What it does is point the requester to a generic page if they try to access my server via IP instead of a URL.
I have the index.htm sitting in the home of my Websites folder (AKA - Document Root).
Kind of like this:
D:\WEBSites
index.htm
<DIR> Site A
<DIR> Site B
<DIR> Site C |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon 25 Jan '16 16:31 Post subject: |
|
|
If you create a vhost the non vhost in httpd.conf disappears.
You can create a default vhost on your own.
Code: |
<VirtualHost _default_:80>
...
</VirtualHost>
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|