Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: forbid root but allow virtual host |
|
Author |
|
phil1234
Joined: 24 Jul 2015 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Tue 10 Nov '15 17:39 Post subject: forbid root but allow virtual host |
|
|
hello everyone
I am renting a ovh host with apache installed on it
I wrote a rule like
RewriteRule ^/$ www.mydomain.be
but then my virtual host is not working anymore
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName www.mydomain.lu
DocumentRoot /var/www/mydomain/
<Directory /var/www/mydomain/>
#Order Deny,Allow
#Deny from all
Options -Indexes
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>
If I remove the rewrite rule, it works
but
if I use nsxxxxxx.ovh.net host name I end up on the defautl "installation in progress page" instead of www.mydomain.be
so the thing is I want to host both .be and .lu sites and I dont want users to end up on the defaut apache page, but instead on the .be site
can someone help me out ?
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 12 Nov '15 19:09 Post subject: |
|
|
You should add conditions based on the host name
Like
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ....
|
|
Back to top |
|
phil1234
Joined: 24 Jul 2015 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Fri 13 Nov '15 10:34 Post subject: |
|
|
I dont really see how forcing the hostname will do the trick |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 13 Nov '15 13:04 Post subject: |
|
|
You can also add an default vhost and do there the redirect to one of your domains.
Code: |
<VirtualHost _default_:80>
....
</VirtualHost>
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
phil1234
Joined: 24 Jul 2015 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Tue 17 Nov '15 9:01 Post subject: |
|
|
nothing works
it's more a problem of domain name than rooting the default / access
<VirtualHost _default_:80>
ServerName www.domain1.be
Redirect 301 / http://www.domain1.be/
</VirtualHost>
besides, I noticed that if I do domain2.be instead of www.domain2.be, I also endup on the default installation page |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|