Author |
|
hankman
Joined: 08 Jan 2008 Posts: 24 Location: Veghel, NL
|
Posted: Wed 24 Jun '15 16:30 Post subject: Vhosts with mutiple php versions |
|
|
I have a site with multiple hosts running. Things work just fine. Now I want to run each host with a different php version. Just can't find out how to configure this, searched this site and the web.
Some sugguestions would be welcome. Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
hankman
Joined: 08 Jan 2008 Posts: 24 Location: Veghel, NL
|
Posted: Thu 25 Jun '15 0:54 Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe I don't understand completely the information at the suggested links,
but what I really want to do is the following:
vhost 1 needs to run php 5.6
vhost 2 needs to run php 7 |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Thu 25 Jun '15 23:25 Post subject: |
|
|
Do you have mod_fcgid installed?
Did you want to load the different mod_phps for the 2 vhosts? Looking at the Apache docs LoadModule and LoadFile can be used in the VirtualHost context so it may be possible. I've never tried it.
With mod_fcgid it would look something like
Code: | #using mod_fcgid and /home/vhost1/php.ini
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName vhost1.example.com
DocumentRoot "/home/vhost1/htdocs"
FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "/home/vhost1"
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
FcgidWrapper "/php56/php-cgi.exe" .php
</VirtualHost>
#using mod_fcgid and /home/vhost2/php.ini
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName vhost2.example.com
DocumentRoot "/home/vhost2/htdocs"
FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "/home/vhost2"
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
FcgidWrapper "/php7/php-cgi.exe" .php
</VirtualHost> |
With mod_php it would look something like
Code: | #using mod_php and /home/vhost1/php.ini
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName vhost1.example.com
DocumentRoot "/home/vhost1/htdocs"
LoadModule php5_module /php56/php5apache2_4.dll
Loadfile /php56/php5ts.dll
PHPIniDir /php56
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
</VirtualHost>
#using mod_php and /home/vhost2/php.ini
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName vhost2.example.com
DocumentRoot "/home/vhost2/htdocs"
LoadModule php7_module /php7/php5apache2_4.dll
Loadfile /php7/php7ts.dll
PHPIniDir /php7
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
</VirtualHost> |
You need thread safe versions and
I've never tried this so it may not work. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Fri 26 Jun '15 12:04 Post subject: |
|
|
I would be really surprised if mod_php could be loaded into Apache multiple times with different PHP-versions. With mod_fcgid it seems possible:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=901050#p901050
Skip the part of building PHP, but look at the confs. NaX_sa defines a php52_fcgid.conf and a php53_fcgid.conf and loads one of them in the Virtualhost context.
If you only need 2 different versions the easy way is to use one with mod_php (php5apache2_4.dll loading a TS version) and one with mod_fcgid (loading a NTS version as NTS is faster than TS). I am running this in production: PHP 5.3 for Drupal6 and PHP 5.5/5.6 for all other frameworks. Note: you cannot use OPcache for both versions. Use for instance php_opcache.dll for the PHP TS version and php_wincache.dll or php_xcache.dll for the PHP NTS version.
In the Virtualhost context you can decide which PHP version to use. If you do not specify anything it will use the PHP that is loaded with mod_php.
You can also use this in the Directory context:
Code: |
<FilesMatch "\.(php|inc)$">
SetHandler application/x-httpd-php
<IfModule fcgid_module>
Options +ExecCGI
SetHandler fcgid-script
</IfModule>
</FilesMatch>
|
or just
Code: |
<FilesMatch "\.(php|inc)$">
SetHandler application/x-httpd-php
</FilesMatch>
|
Be aware the Directory context is inherited for all subdirs.
Last edited by Jan-E on Fri 26 Jun '15 17:29; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 26 Jun '15 17:01 Post subject: |
|
|
Since Steffen mentioned my name ...
In each vhost I use something like
Code: |
<IfModule fcgid_module>
FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "C:\\php5"
FcgidInitialEnv PATH "C:\\php5;C:\\WINDOWS\\system32;C:\\WINDOWS;C:\\WINDOWS\\System32\\Wbem;"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemRoot "C:\\Windows"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemDrive "C:"
FcgidInitialEnv TEMP "C:\\WINDOWS\\TEMP"
FcgidInitialEnv TMP "C:\\WINDOWS\\TEMP"
FcgidInitialEnv windir "C:\\WINDOWS"
FcgidPassHeader Authorization
<Files ~ "\.php$">
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks ExecCGI
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
FcgidWrapper "C:/php5/php-cgi.exe" .php
AddHandler fcgid-script .html
FcgidWrapper "C:/php5/php-cgi.exe" .html
</Files>
</IfModule>
|
and in the global context
Code: | <IfModule fcgid_module>
FcgidConnectTimeout 10
FcgidMaxProcesses 300
FcgidMaxProcessesPerClass 300
FcgidOutputBufferSize 64
ProcessLifeTime 0
FcgidMaxRequestsPerProcess 0
FcgidMinProcessesPerClass 0
FcgidFixPathinfo 0
FcgidProcessLifeTime 0
FcgidZombieScanInterval 20
FcgidMaxRequestLen 536870912
FcgidIOTimeout 120
FcgidTimeScore 3
</IfModule> |
|
|
Back to top |
|
tgabor
Joined: 09 Oct 2015 Posts: 2 Location: Hungary, Budapest
|
Posted: Fri 09 Oct '15 14:43 Post subject: |
|
|
We also, in our production-server we want to execute multiple PHP version.
Windows 10 / 64
Intel Core i5 3.2GHz, 8 Gb RAM
Apche/2.4.16 (Win64)
We realized after much experimentation, that each PHP releases own environment variables must be ensured. with FcgidCmdOptions. See below how.
Otherwise, there were frequent errors. ( Like: End of script output before headers, mod_fcgid: get overlap result error)
It is important that every 7 options must have a value! ( http://httpd.apache.org/mod_fcgid/mod/mod_fcgid.html#fcgidcmdoptions )
However, there is a problem;
PHP5.5 and PHP5.6 version use OPCACHE.
If PHP7(RC4, 64 bit) in addition to permitting the use of OPCACHE, the system unstable again.
My question is: This PHP7 bug, or config error?
Code: | Define PHP53 'C:/webservices/php53_32_nts'
Define PHP54 'C:/webservices/php54_32_nts'
Define PHP55 'C:/webservices/php55_32_nts'
Define PHP56 'C:/webservices/php56_32_nts'
Define PHP7064 "C:/webservices/php70_64_nts"
FcgidCmdOptions '${PHP53}/php-cgi.exe' \
InitialEnv Path='${PHP53};${Path}' \
InitialEnv PHPRC=${PHP53} \
InitialEnv PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS=10000 \
ConnectTimeout 30 \
IdleTimeout 120 \
IOTimeout 600 \
MaxProcesses 10 \
MaxProcessLifeTime 240 \
MaxRequestsPerProcess 5000 \
MinProcesses 0
FcgidCmdOptions '${PHP54}/php-cgi.exe' \
InitialEnv PATH='${PHP54};${Path}' \
InitialEnv PHPRC=${PHP54} \
InitialEnv PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS=10000 \
ConnectTimeout 30 \
IdleTimeout 120 \
IOTimeout 600 \
MaxProcesses 10 \
MaxProcessLifeTime 240 \
MaxRequestsPerProcess 5000 \
MinProcesses 0
FcgidCmdOptions '${PHP55}/php-cgi.exe' \
InitialEnv PATH='${PHP55};${Path}' \
InitialEnv PHPRC=${PHP55} \
InitialEnv PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS=10000 \
ConnectTimeout 30 \
IdleTimeout 120 \
IOTimeout 600 \
MaxProcesses 10 \
MaxProcessLifeTime 240 \
MaxRequestsPerProcess 5000 \
MinProcesses 0
FcgidCmdOptions '${PHP56}/php-cgi.exe' \
InitialEnv PATH='${PHP56};${Path}' \
InitialEnv PHPRC=${PHP56} \
InitialEnv PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS=10000 \
ConnectTimeout 30 \
IdleTimeout 120 \
IOTimeout 600 \
MaxProcesses 10 \
MaxProcessLifeTime 240 \
MaxRequestsPerProcess 5000 \
MinProcesses 0
FcgidCmdOptions '${PHP7064}/php-cgi.exe' \
InitialEnv PATH='${PHP7064};${Path}' \
InitialEnv PHPRC=${PHP7064} \
InitialEnv PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS=10000 \
ConnectTimeout 30 \
IdleTimeout 120 \
IOTimeout 600 \
MaxProcesses 10 \
MaxProcessLifeTime 240 \
MaxRequestsPerProcess 5000 \
MinProcesses 0
# It seems, they must be defined as "quasi-global"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemDrive '${SystemDrive}'
FcgidInitialEnv SystemRoot '${SystemRoot}'
FcgidInitialEnv windir '${windir}' |
|
|
Back to top |
|
tgabor
Joined: 09 Oct 2015 Posts: 2 Location: Hungary, Budapest
|
Posted: Fri 09 Oct '15 14:58 Post subject: |
|
|
yeah, I forgot:
Above code is in httpd.conf and in vh.conf looks like:
Code: | <VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName example.com
ServerAlias www.example.com
ServerAdmin info@example.com
...
FcgidWrapper '${php_path}/php-cgi.exe \
-d open_basedir=${vh_dir}/ \
-d upload_tmp_dir=${vh_dir} \
-d opcache.enable=1' .php
<Directory '${vh_dir}'>
<IfModule fcgid_module>
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
</IfModule>
</Directory>
</VirtualHost> |
|
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1265 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 14 Oct '15 18:25 Post subject: |
|
|
PHP 7.0.0 RC5 is in the Members Downloads forum now. |
|
Back to top |
|