Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Cant use xampp or wamp server appache wont start due to port |
|
Author |
|
yacobm8
Joined: 20 Jan 2014 Posts: 2 Location: england chippenham
|
Posted: Mon 20 Jan '14 22:09 Post subject: Cant use xampp or wamp server appache wont start due to port |
|
|
Problem detected!
19:58:32 [Apache] Port 80 in use by "Unable to open process" with PID 4!
19:58:32 [Apache] Apache WILL NOT start without the configured ports free!
19:58:32 [Apache] You need to uninstall/disable/reconfigure the blocking application
19:58:32 [Apache] or reconfigure Apache and the Control Panel to listen on a different port
19:58:32 [Apache] Attempting to start Apache app...
19:58:32 [Apache] Status change detected: running
19:58:33 [Apache] Status change detected: stopped
19:58:33 [Apache] Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.
19:58:33 [Apache] This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies,
19:58:33 [Apache] improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
19:58:33 [Apache] Press the Logs button to view error logs and check
19:58:33 [Apache] the Windows Event Viewer for more clues
19:58:33 [Apache] If you need more help, copy and post this
19:58:33 [Apache] entire log window on the forums
that is my error message I have changed skype's port from using port 80 and also uninstalled IIS from microsoft I have only installed xampp on its own without wamp server so that they dont conflict. I have also hired 2 freelancers to try and fix the problem and both of them failed. If someone could be willing to help me out I will be willing to pay you if you can fix my problem |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Mon 20 Jan '14 22:15 Post subject: |
|
|
This means something else is running on the same port (default is 80) and you need to find it and change the port this conflicting program is running on.
Use in a command window:
>netstat -ab
should tell you what all is running on what port.
Code: | [httpd.exe]
TCP 0.0.0.0:80 COMP3:0 LISTENING |
shows that httpd.exe is listening on port 80, the 0.0.0.0 means all IP addresses on the machine. |
|
Back to top |
|
yacobm8
Joined: 20 Jan 2014 Posts: 2 Location: england chippenham
|
Posted: Tue 21 Jan '14 0:04 Post subject: reply |
|
|
When i use netstat (the one built into xampp) the only thing that I can see that is using port 80 is 'system' the address is 0.0.0.0: and port is 80 with a pid number of 4. I tried copying and pasting your cmd line but it wouldn't work. I have used a similar cmd thou and again I was unable to find the problem. If you want I could give you a teamviewer account and password so that you can control my computer and try to fix.
thanks, jake |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 21 Jan '14 15:06 Post subject: |
|
|
You can easily find out the PID and than look in the taskmanager for it
Code: |
netstat -ano | findstr /R 0.0:80 && netstat -ano | findstr /R 0.0:443 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|