Author |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1266 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
Pierre
Joined: 23 Dec 2008 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Thu 19 Sep '13 22:45 Post subject: Openssl |
|
|
hi,
It is misleading to say that the php.net official builds only rely on the OpenSSL 0.9.x serie.
PHP 5.5.x serie does use OpenSSL 1.x as well while previous versions remain with 0.9.x, and will remain until their end of life.
The reason why we keep using 0.9.x for 5.3/4 is the compatibility with 3rd parties extensions. Mixing both in the same process (be mod_php or fastcgi) causes unexpected behaviors, which can lead to crashes.
I've to recommend not to use 1.x with 5.3/4 and move to 5.5 if 1.x features are needed (or in general as it is very stable and almost 100% backward compatible). |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1266 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Thu 19 Sep '13 23:42 Post subject: |
|
|
The mentioning of OpenSSL 1.0.1 was in the same sentence as 'My PHP 5.4 builds', to which it was referring.
You know I have a double setup: PHP 5.3 for Drupal6 and PHP 5.5 for Drupal7. Just Google on 'Drupal6 PHP 5.4' and you know why I cannot easily upgrade from PHP 5.3 to 5.5:
https://www.google.com/search?q=drupal6+%22php+5.4%22
Mixing OpenSSL DLL's on Windows is a recipe for troubles, so I decided to compile PHP 5.3 and PHP 5.4 with OpenSSL 1.0.1 as well.
And besides that: OpenSSL 0.9.8 had a nasty (client-side) bug, that was only recently fixed:
http://sourceforge.net/p/curl/bugs/1037/?limit=10&page=3#b086
This patch is not even in the OpenSSL sources yet, but it was another reason for me to jump to 1.0.1 as soon as I could.
Edit: even Drupal 7 has some issues with PHP 5.4+, I discovered when upgrading our Centos server to PHP 5.5.4 (in a dual setup with PHP 5.3.27):
https://drupal.org/node/1872616
Looks like it that we have to upgrade Views Slideshow to the dev-version. |
|
Back to top |
|
C0nw0nk
Joined: 07 Oct 2013 Posts: 241 Location: United Kingdom, London
|
Posted: Mon 07 Oct '13 23:07 Post subject: |
|
|
Hey Jan-E i am using you're php builds in a 64bit environment they work amazingly but do you know where i can get a hold of a 64bit memcached executable since you supply the memcache.dll extension ? |
|
Back to top |
|
Millennium
Joined: 17 Apr 2006 Posts: 179 Location: Leiderdorp, NL, EU
|
Posted: Wed 09 Oct '13 15:10 Post subject: Re: PHP 5.5.4 & PHP 5.4.20 available |
|
|
Any change you can compile the PHP 5.5.5RC1 64bit NTS ? Cause there's an important fix in Opcache in combination with APCU and shutdown. Tried copying opcache.dll from the windows snapshot to 5.5.4, but then opcache doesn't load, also doesn't crash |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1266 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1266 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
C0nw0nk
Joined: 07 Oct 2013 Posts: 241 Location: United Kingdom, London
|
Posted: Sat 12 Oct '13 17:00 Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Jan every single one i found was 32 bit and outdated |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1266 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
|
Back to top |
|
Millennium
Joined: 17 Apr 2006 Posts: 179 Location: Leiderdorp, NL, EU
|
Posted: Thu 17 Oct '13 14:23 Post subject: |
|
|
And now we wait for the Jan-E Edition
(What is actuallu the difference between opcache.dll and Opcache64.dll ?) |
|
Back to top |
|
Jan-E
Joined: 09 Mar 2012 Posts: 1266 Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU
|
Posted: Thu 17 Oct '13 18:53 Post subject: |
|
|
php_opcache64.dll uses a different semaphore file, which makes it more or less possible to run PHP 5.3/5.4 x86 besides PHP 5.5 x64, both with their own opcaches.
See http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=5461 |
|
Back to top |
|