Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Help with Virtual Host |
|
Author |
|
Benedict3578
Joined: 09 Dec 2012 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Sun 09 Dec '12 13:46 Post subject: Help with Virtual Host |
|
|
Hi,
I have got an Apache server running and I am trying to host about seven domains on it. Currently, I want to only set it up with one but then have the ability to expand. I have tried for about three hours to set up the domain myself, but it does not work. Please could someone tell me what to do, and where I went wrong. Any files and information you might need are below:
Domain: justcode.us
Location of HTML etc. Files: /home/www/justcode.us/htdocs/
File 1: /etc/apache2/sites-available/justcode.us
Code: |
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin benedict@justcode.us
ServerName justcode.us
ServerAlias www.justcode.us
DocumentRoot /home/www/justcode.us/htdocs
<Directory />
Options FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
</Directory>
<Directory /var/www/>
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
allow from all
</Directory>
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /usr/lib/cgi-bin/
<Directory "/usr/lib/cgi-bin">
AllowOverride None
Options +ExecCGI -MultiViews +SymLinksIfOwnerMatch
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/error.log
# Possible values include: debug, info, notice, warn, error, crit,
# alert, emerg.
LogLevel warn
CustomLog /var/log/apache2/access.log combined
Alias /doc/ "/usr/share/doc/"
<Directory "/usr/share/doc/">
Options Indexes MultiViews FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from 127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 ::1/128
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>
|
File 2: /etc/apache2/httpd.conf
Admin Note:
httpd conf removed, use paste bin, see forum rules
I have created the symbolic link in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/justcode.us.
If you need any more information, I can give you access to the server if you can fix it for me.
Please help me, I'm tearing my hair out trying to get this done! |
|
Back to top |
|
maba
Joined: 05 Feb 2012 Posts: 64 Location: Germany, Heilbronn
|
Posted: Fri 14 Dec '12 11:25 Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
I can see nothing that would be obviously wrong. From the description it looks like a Debian or Ubuntu setup.
What does the command
give as a result? Please be sure to use upper case S.
Maba[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
Benedict3578
Joined: 09 Dec 2012 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Fri 14 Dec '12 11:32 Post subject: Result of apache2 -S |
|
|
Here is the result:
Code: | apache2: bad user name ${APACHE_RUN_USER} |
|
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Fri 14 Dec '12 12:11 Post subject: |
|
|
Search for
User
in your httpd.conf
there change
Code: | User ${APACHE_RUN_USER}
Group ${APACHE_RUN_GROUP} |
to
Code: | User www-data
Group www-data |
|
|
Back to top |
|
Benedict3578
Joined: 09 Dec 2012 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Fri 14 Dec '12 13:15 Post subject: |
|
|
James Blond wrote: | Search for
User
in your httpd.conf
there change
Code: | User ${APACHE_RUN_USER}
Group ${APACHE_RUN_GROUP} |
to
Code: | User www-data
Group www-data |
|
I do not have
Code: |
User ${APACHE_RUN_USER}
Group ${APACHE_RUN_GROUP}
|
in my http.conf file. Could you provide me with a example of what it should look like?
Thanks very much for the great support |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7373 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Mon 17 Dec '12 16:23 Post subject: |
|
|
I can see where in your config the user stuff is defined. So you have to search it (shell)
Code: |
cd /etc/apache2/
grep -rn "User" *
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|