Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: VirtualHost working for www.site.com, but not site.com |
|
Author |
|
NVergunst
Joined: 29 Nov 2011 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue 29 Nov '11 22:10 Post subject: VirtualHost working for www.site.com, but not site.com |
|
|
I have multiple virtual hosts setup, and when I go to www.site1.com or www.site2.com, it works. However if I go to site2.com, it serves the default first virtualhost which just happens to be for site1.
Is there a way to make www.whatever.com and whatever.com equivalent in the virtualhost? |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3091 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Tue 29 Nov '11 22:34 Post subject: |
|
|
I have this in the virtual host apachelounge:
A Server Alias:
When http://apachelounge.com is typed then it gives http://www.apachelounge.com :
Code: | RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.apachelounge\.com [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !=""
RewriteRule ^/(.*) http://www\.apachelounge\.com/$1 [L,R=301] |
Steffen |
|
Back to top |
|
NVergunst
Joined: 29 Nov 2011 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue 29 Nov '11 22:41 Post subject: |
|
|
Perfect!
Many thanks.
I added the "ServerAlias" line in the virtualhost config area and it works like a charm.
It looks like the code you posted after that actually makes the URL blah.com into www.blah.com?
It seems like I need the mod_rewrite.so for that, and then put that somewhere like in the main config file? Obviously changing your domain to mine... |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3091 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Tue 29 Nov '11 22:50 Post subject: |
|
|
Yep mod_rewrite.so must be enabled.
Then, just put that code within a virtual host block.
Btw, it is advised to place as first a Default Virtual host, like:
Code: | <VirtualHost *>
ServerName father (Computer name)
ServerAlias localhost
ServerAlias 127.0.0.1
ServerAlias 85.223.52.177 (your external IP)
DocumentRoot f:/web/unknown (what ever)
</VirtualHost> |
The first VirtualHost section is used for all requests that do notmatch a ServerName or ServerAlias in any <VirtualHost> block.
Steffen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|