Author |
|
pginalski
Joined: 20 Mar 2007 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 14:12 Post subject: Apache 2.2.4 IPv6 precompiled binary |
|
|
Hello
I've question does anyone have precompiled 2.2.4 binary with IPv6 enabled.
I'm running W2K Server and I realy need that future. |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 15:09 Post subject: |
|
|
Hello!
Apache does support IPv6. It supports that since 2.0
Please read the docs
IPv6 addresses must be surrounded in square brackets, as in the following example:
Code: |
Listen 192.170.2.1:80
Listen [2001:db8::a00:20ff:fea7:ccea]:80
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
pginalski
Joined: 20 Mar 2007 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 15:14 Post subject: |
|
|
Part of httpd.conf
Listen 800
Listen [2001:470:1f02:e72::2]:801
I've got this error
C:\Apache2\bin>httpd
[Tue Mar 20 14:12:30 2007] [crit] (OS 87)The parameter is incorrect. : alloc_listener: failed to set up sockaddr for [2001:470:1f02:e72::2]
Syntax error on line 54 of C:/Apache2/conf/httpd.conf:
Listen setup failed |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 15:35 Post subject: |
|
|
That message mean that of IPv6 was not found on your System.
Did you install and activate the IPv6 protocol for your network card?
I'm not sure that your OS (Windows 2000 server) supports IPv6. I know that Windows 2000 don't. Windows 2003 server and Windows XP Pro does.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/downloads/sdks/platform/tpipv6/faq.asp |
|
Back to top |
|
pginalski
Joined: 20 Mar 2007 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 15:37 Post subject: |
|
|
Here is result of my ping6 command
Pinging ipv6.rage4.com [2001:470:1f02:e72::3] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 2001:470:1f02:e72::3: bytes=32 time<1ms
Reply from 2001:470:1f02:e72::3: bytes=32 time<1ms
Reply from 2001:470:1f02:e72::3: bytes=32 time<1ms
Reply from 2001:470:1f02:e72::3: bytes=32 time<1ms
there is an IPv6 stack under W2K and other apps running well |
|
Back to top |
|
Jorge
Joined: 12 Mar 2006 Posts: 376 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 16:27 Post subject: |
|
|
Last time I check pinging and IPv6 server doesn't mean your system can setup a IPv6 listening socket. Do you have the IPv6 item when you look at your network connection's propertie dialog? |
|
Back to top |
|
tdonovan Moderator
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 611 Location: Milford, MA, USA
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 19:40 Post subject: need to build on an IPv6 system |
|
|
Looking at the Windows source code for Apache 2.2.4, I'm surprised to find that it has IPv6 disabled by default.
As James Blond pointed out, that isn't what the docs say - so it probably warrants filing an Apache bug.
To build an IPv6-capable version, you would need to change line 220 of the source file srclib\apr\include\apr.hw
from: Code: | #define APR_HAVE_IPV6 0 | to: Code: | #define APR_HAVE_IPV6 1 |
and re-build Apache.
Building Apache this way requires IPv6 to be installed on the build system, so many of us cannot build it for you.
Perhaps you should download the (free) Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 and Platform SDK, and try building Apache from source yourself.
This isn't a trivial task if you have never done it before, but there are several notes about how to do this in the Apache Lounge Building with Visual C ++ forum.
-tom- |
|
Back to top |
|
pginalski
Joined: 20 Mar 2007 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Tue 20 Mar '07 21:14 Post subject: |
|
|
build form the source on this particular mchine will be a little bit hard becouse it's one of our production machines. well antother thing to do huh. thansks for quick and professional reply. |
|
Back to top |
|
Jorge
Joined: 12 Mar 2006 Posts: 376 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Wed 21 Mar '07 8:43 Post subject: Re: need to build on an IPv6 system |
|
|
tdonovan wrote: | Looking at the Windows source code for Apache 2.2.4, I'm surprised to find that it has IPv6 disabled by default.
To build an IPv6-capable version, you would need to change line 220 of the source file srclib\apr\include\apr.hw
from: Code: | #define APR_HAVE_IPV6 0 | to: Code: | #define APR_HAVE_IPV6 1 |
and re-build Apache.
Building Apache this way requires IPv6 to be installed on the build system, so many of us cannot build it for you.
-tom- |
Wait this actually makes some sense...
1. they disable it in the source so they don't get complaints about compiles failing. User who need it will probebly figure it out and enable it themselfs. (my 2 cents)
Not sure but if I build a IPv6 enabeld one will it run on a computer with only IPv4? if thats the case I'm guessing that the official binary's have it enabled. |
|
Back to top |
|
ashwani_ap
Joined: 29 Aug 2007 Posts: 47 Location: Bangalore
|
Posted: Fri 16 Nov '07 11:54 Post subject: apache binary not executing for IPv4 now |
|
|
Hi,
I built apache 2.2.0 successfully with changes in apr.hw. but now it stopped responding to IPv4 address.
If I change the listen directive to my IPv4 addr:80 then it listens to only IPv4 addr not to IPv6 addr.
Do I need to build with some other options for both the addrses to work? |
|
Back to top |
|
tdonovan Moderator
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 611 Location: Milford, MA, USA
|
Posted: Fri 16 Nov '07 15:04 Post subject: |
|
|
Did you try putting two Listen directives in httpd.conf?
One for for the IPv6 address and another for the IPv4 address.
-tom- |
|
Back to top |
|
ashwani_ap
Joined: 29 Aug 2007 Posts: 47 Location: Bangalore
|
Posted: Sat 17 Nov '07 11:27 Post subject: Still global global IPv6 address not working |
|
|
Hi,
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried giving the two directives.
Now it is responding to the IPv4 address.
But, for IPv6 address it is listening only to the loopback address not to the global IPv6 address.
I don't know what is the problem. PLease help.
Thanks in advance |
|
Back to top |
|
tdonovan Moderator
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 611 Location: Milford, MA, USA
|
Posted: Sat 17 Nov '07 21:29 Post subject: |
|
|
Please post your exact Listen directives.
-tom- |
|
Back to top |
|
ashwani_ap
Joined: 29 Aug 2007 Posts: 47 Location: Bangalore
|
Posted: Mon 19 Nov '07 7:08 Post subject: My listen directives |
|
|
If I gave the following listen directives
Listen 0.0.0.0:80
Listen [::1]:80
It is working with only the loop back IPv6address and all IPv4 address.
If I give this directive
Listen 0.0.0.0:80
Listen [fe80::215:8aff:fe09:a513]:80
It is not working with this IPv6 address. Still working with the IPv4 address. |
|
Back to top |
|
ashwani_ap
Joined: 29 Aug 2007 Posts: 47 Location: Bangalore
|
Posted: Mon 19 Nov '07 12:00 Post subject: |
|
|
PLease reply.
Help needed urgently
Admin note:
Advise is not post this and put pressure on the community. Does not help to get an answer sooner, in fact it is holding off the community to help you. |
|
Back to top |
|