Author |
|
someone124
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sun 18 Jun '06 9:32 Post subject: Apache starts, but PHP won't do anything |
|
|
Hey everyone,
this is my first time setting this up, i'm on...
Wondows 2000 Sp 4
Apache 2.2.2
PHP 5.1.4
and MySQL 5.0.22
i'm trying to get a phpBB board running, but PHP refuses to actually work. Every time i try to load a page that is a .php file it just gives me all the text. This is what it looks like,
http://s34.photobucket.com/albums/d146/someone1_2_4/?action=view¤t=lamerz.jpg
i've added the lines...
what is going on?
Code: | # For PHP 5
LoadModule php5_module "E:/Dev/PHP/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php-source .phps
# configure the path to php.ini
PHPIniDir "E:/Dev/PHP" |
with the paths changed to work on my computer, all the tuts are different, and none have worked. What's going on?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Sun 18 Jun '06 15:15 Post subject: |
|
|
PHP is not runnig?? . Do any other php scripts run?
You may test with this: create a php file with
Code: |
<?php
phpinfo();
?>
|
Any error in windows event log / apache error log or php error log?
Where did you add the line in your httpd.conf?
Installed Apache as service? If yes reastart it. |
|
Back to top |
|
filmstalker
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun 18 Jun '06 18:11 Post subject: |
|
|
I am having this exact same problem.
Windows XP
.Net 2.0 installed
Apache 2.2
PHP 4.4.2
php4apache2.dll-php4.4.x.dll installed as per readme
Added correct lines to httpd.conf as per documentation
Paths setup correctly - cmd path shows it's okay
No errors in any logs - Apache logs show PHP loaded successfully
Everything else is working but a PHP file just displays as a text file rather than running. I just can't figure it out.
I've even added a small phpinfo() test script and that won't run.
Any suggestions would be appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
someone124
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sun 18 Jun '06 19:28 Post subject: |
|
|
How do i make a .php file, it won't let me, it just saves it as a .txt
and i added the lines at the very top of the httpd file
and is .net required? |
|
Back to top |
|
Steffen Moderator
Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 3092 Location: Hilversum, NL, EU
|
Posted: Sun 18 Jun '06 20:51 Post subject: |
|
|
Use a filename surround with quotes, eg. in notepad Filename "phpinfo.php"
Steffen |
|
Back to top |
|
someone124
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Mon 19 Jun '06 2:16 Post subject: |
|
|
ok, so i got the test file working to save as a PHP file, but the PHP script didn't run so it just showed up as some text when i looked at it through my browser. |
|
Back to top |
|
pnllan
Joined: 05 Dec 2005 Posts: 221
|
Posted: Mon 19 Jun '06 8:02 Post subject: |
|
|
Are you restarting the Apache service after saving changes to your CONF file?
It sounds like the LoadModule directive for PHP is not being read, that is why I'm asking about restart.
.. |
|
Back to top |
|
someone124
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Mon 19 Jun '06 23:31 Post subject: |
|
|
nope, i'm restarting apache after i change stuff in the httpd file |
|
Back to top |
|
pnllan
Joined: 05 Dec 2005 Posts: 221
|
Posted: Tue 20 Jun '06 9:30 Post subject: |
|
|
This is my entire CONF file (edited to arbitrary paths - but close enough to make sense):
Code: | ThreadsPerChild 250
MaxRequestsPerChild 0
ServerRoot "C:/Apache2"
Listen 80
LoadModule actions_module modules/mod_actions.so
LoadModule alias_module modules/mod_alias.so
LoadModule asis_module modules/mod_asis.so
LoadModule auth_basic_module modules/mod_auth_basic.so
LoadModule authn_default_module modules/mod_authn_default.so
LoadModule authn_file_module modules/mod_authn_file.so
LoadModule authz_default_module modules/mod_authz_default.so
LoadModule authz_groupfile_module modules/mod_authz_groupfile.so
LoadModule authz_host_module modules/mod_authz_host.so
LoadModule authz_user_module modules/mod_authz_user.so
LoadModule autoindex_module modules/mod_autoindex.so
LoadModule cgi_module modules/mod_cgi.so
LoadModule dir_module modules/mod_dir.so
LoadModule env_module modules/mod_env.so
LoadModule imagemap_module modules/mod_imagemap.so
LoadModule include_module modules/mod_include.so
LoadModule info_module modules/mod_info.so
LoadModule isapi_module modules/mod_isapi.so
LoadModule log_config_module modules/mod_log_config.so
LoadModule mime_module modules/mod_mime.so
LoadModule negotiation_module modules/mod_negotiation.so
LoadModule setenvif_module modules/mod_setenvif.so
LoadModule status_module modules/mod_status.so
LoadModule userdir_module modules/mod_userdir.so
LoadModule ssl_module modules/mod_ssl.so
# Load PHP as a module
LoadModule php5_module "c:/php/php5apache2.dll"
ServerAdmin @@ServerAdmin@@
ServerName localhost:80
DocumentRoot "d:/Web"
<Directory />
Options FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Satisfy all
</Directory>
<Directory "d:/Web">
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
<IfModule dir_module>
DirectoryIndex index.htm index.html index.php
</IfModule>
<IfModule log_config_module>
LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\"" combined
LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%r\" %>s %b" common
<IfModule logio_module>
LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\" %I %O" combinedio
</IfModule>
CustomLog logs/access.log combined
</IfModule>
<IfModule mime_module>
TypesConfig conf/mime.types
AddType application/x-compress .Z
AddType application/x-gzip .gz .tgz
# include the MIME TYPE for PHP
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
</IfModule>
DefaultType text/plain
<FilesMatch "^\.ht">
Order allow,deny
Deny from all
</FilesMatch>
ErrorLog logs/error.log
LogLevel crit
Include conf/extra/httpd-info.conf
Include conf/extra/httpd-manual.conf
Include conf/extra/httpd-default.conf
Include conf/extra/httpd-ssl.conf
Include conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf
PHPIniDir "C:/php"
|
I run PHP with an Apache CONF just like this without ANY problems - compare to what you have and note locations of PHP pertinent information.
.. |
|
Back to top |
|
pedro2k
Joined: 17 Jun 2006 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Wed 21 Jun '06 19:34 Post subject: |
|
|
OK i had the sampe problem,
I had to forgotten to add this line
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
Have you added these three lines for php?
LoadModule php5_module "c:/php/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
PHPIniDir "C:/php"
This is all i added to the conf file and it worked! |
|
Back to top |
|
OldManRiver
Joined: 21 Jun 2006 Posts: 21
|
Posted: Thu 22 Jun '06 1:29 Post subject: Doesn't really work |
|
|
I have PHP working in my PHP editor, because links directly but not in the localhost. Here is the .conf code for PHP:
Code: | DirectoryIndex index.html index.html.var index.shtml index.php
# Config for PHP
LoadModule php5_module "D:/Program Files/PHP/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
PHPIniDir "D:/Program Files/PHP"
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "D:/Program Files/Apache/Apache2/cgi-bin/"
ScriptAlias /php/ "D:/Program Files/PHP/"
AddType text/html .shtml .htm .dhtm .dhtml .asp .aspx .php .php3 .phml .cfml
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler php-script .php .php3 .phml
AddHandler php .php .php3 .phml
<Directory "D:/Program Files/Apache/Apache2/cgi-bin">
Options
Allow from all
Order allow,deny
AllowOverride None
</Directory>
<Directory "D:/Program Files/PHP">
Options
Allow from all
Order allow,deny
AllowOverride None
</Directory> |
What do I need to add or change?
OMR |
|
Back to top |
|
Siron
Joined: 11 Jun 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Utah / California
|
Posted: Thu 22 Jun '06 2:08 Post subject: |
|
|
if you use <? ?> style tag's instead of the standard <?php ?> - try changing it and see if it works, if thats the case edit your php.ini file to have short_open_tag = On (or just change your tags). |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu 22 Jun '06 17:35 Post subject: |
|
|
remove AddHandler php .php .php3 .phml and AddHandler php-script .php .php3 .phml because you have allready declared that with AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
Also remove ScriptAlias /php/ "D:/Program Files/PHP/"
and the container for it. PHP loaded as module don't need that. |
|
Back to top |
|
filmstalker
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat 24 Jun '06 22:23 Post subject: |
|
|
Mine is as per the installation instructions, and I'm still getting the text display rather than the PHP working. Any other areas to check? |
|
Back to top |
|
ibba
Joined: 25 Jun 2006 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Sun 25 Jun '06 2:42 Post subject: Similer issues |
|
|
Hi guys,
I am a total newbi to this, don exactly the same as instructed but when i type the test PHP (on the prower ie:http:/localhost/test.php) or what ever test i have created. it pompts for a file down load of that test.php file. and i cant get the browser to open the PHP file. any ideas what i have done wrong.
cheers
Ibba |
|
Back to top |
|
OldManRiver
Joined: 21 Jun 2006 Posts: 21
|
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7371 Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue 27 Jun '06 22:00 Post subject: |
|
|
You do not have to asociate PHP files in the windows registry. Why should you? there is no need |
|
Back to top |
|
Gottso
Joined: 28 Jun 2006 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu 29 Jun '06 1:07 Post subject: |
|
|
Ok. i made this change in the httpd.conf file, restarted the server and still no dice.
this is highly frustrating |
|
Back to top |
|