Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Strange Virtual Host Problems |
|
Author |
|
rigadon
Joined: 01 Mar 2007 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Thu 01 Mar '07 1:57 Post subject: Strange Virtual Host Problems |
|
|
Hi everyone!
I am using the latest version of Apache (downloaded today) on Windows XP. I have setup a virtual host for a website hosted in the /httpd/testing/wwwroot/ directory on my computer. I have commented IN the following line in httpd.conf:
Code: | Include conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf |
And I have added the required VirtualHost entries to the httpd-vhosts.conf file:
Code: | NameVirtualHost *:80
<VirtualHost *:80>
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost.testing
DocumentRoot /httpd/testing/wwwroot/
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /httpd/testing/wwwroot/cgi-bin/
DirectoryIndex index.html
ServerName localhost.testing
ErrorLog logs/localhost.testing-error_log
CustomLog logs/localhost.testing-access_log common
</VirtualHost> |
Accessing http://localhost works fine but http://localhost.testing gives me a 403 Forbidden error. If I set the DocumentRoot directive to the same as in the main httpd.conf (<installation directory>/htdocs) it works fine. I've also tried creating an index.html file in <installation directory>/htdocs/x and using this as the DocumentRoot. This works fine too.
The only conclusion I can come to is that it is down to permissions on the folder. But so far as I am aware Apache has access to read the folder I have directed it to.
Please anyone who can help I would greatly appreciate it as I need to get this fixed ASAP.
Thanks
Jay
Last edited by rigadon on Thu 01 Mar '07 2:05; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
rigadon
Joined: 01 Mar 2007 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Thu 01 Mar '07 2:05 Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm - do I need to fix the <Directory>...</Directory> block somehow? Or add one for the directory I am trying to use? That might be way off track |
|
Back to top |
|
rigadon
Joined: 01 Mar 2007 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Thu 01 Mar '07 10:37 Post subject: |
|
|
Someone from another forum answered this question for me - I need to include a Directory block like this:
Code: | <Directory /httpd/testing/wwwroot>
... (whatever options you want)
Allow from all
</Directory> |
Thanks for looking in! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|