Author |
|
aravindtj
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 3 Location: Chennai
|
Posted: Wed 30 Jan '08 13:24 Post subject: Apache install path with ';' - Error in PHP configuration |
|
|
Hi,
I am customizing and bundling the Apache 2.0.59 & PHP 4 instances with my application.
When I install Apache in Windows 2003 Server R2 [32 bit] system under a path contains a semicolon character, for example, "C:/my; applications/webserver/" path, I am getting issues. I am installaing Apache as a Windows Service under Local System Account and while starting the service, I am getting 'Unable To Locate Component : This application has failed to start because libapr.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.' error.
When I start Apache in command prompt, I am getting following error:
Syntax error on line 184 of C:/my; applications/webserver/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
Cannot load C:/my; applications/webserver/php/php4apache2.dll into server: The specified module could not be found.
The PHP configuration strings in the httpd.conf folder is:
LoadModule php4_module "C:/my; applications/webserver/php/php4apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .sgp
PHPIniDir "C:/my; applications/webserver/apache"
In the system events message, I am getting event ID: 7009 and the event message as:
Timeout (30000 milliseconds) waiting for the My_WebServer service to connect.
Here, My_WebServer is the apache service name. There are no apache instances running in this system.
The odd thing is, I am NOT getting this issue in the Windows XP SP2 systems.
Is there any solution or workaround for this issue. Or, am I doing anything wrong in my setup?
Thanks in advance.
Best regards,
Aravind T. |
|
Back to top |
|
jonez
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 2 Location: United States
|
Posted: Wed 30 Jan '08 16:31 Post subject: |
|
|
why do you have a ";" in your filename? do you really need that? also, I recommend not using *any* pathnames with spaces in them. |
|
Back to top |
|
aravindtj
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 3 Location: Chennai
|
Posted: Wed 30 Jan '08 16:52 Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I really need my application path with ';' character and blank spaces.
With the blank spaces in path, it is working correctly.
The issue is with ';' character only.
Is there any other way to correct this issue?
In a PHP IRC channel, I was adviced to migrate to PHP 5. I will think of this in future. But it will be nice, if I can resolve this with PHP 4. |
|
Back to top |
|
tdonovan Moderator
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 611 Location: Milford, MA, USA
|
Posted: Thu 31 Jan '08 2:02 Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe Apache cannot find your php4ts.dll file.
It should be in your PATH, but if it isn't you can use the LoadFile diretive as described in this post.
-tom-
p.s. I think jonez is right - even if the semicolon isn't the problem this time, it will probably be the cause of some future grief. |
|
Back to top |
|
glsmith Moderator
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 2268 Location: Sun Diego, USA
|
Posted: Thu 31 Jan '08 2:16 Post subject: |
|
|
I agree .. future grief .. especially since the semi-colon is the separator in the PATH environment This may have already been said .. if so .. appologies |
|
Back to top |
|
PipoDeClown
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 77
|
Posted: Fri 01 Feb '08 21:59 Post subject: |
|
|
Is it possible to start httpd.exe from the commandline?
Maybe the service thing in windows just does not understand the semicolon in the path.
Its a bad idea to use those kind of characters in a path anyway!
imagine:
PATH="C:\WINDOWS;C:\My ; Programs;C:\Tools" |
|
Back to top |
|
aravindtj
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 3 Location: Chennai
|
Posted: Sat 02 Feb '08 10:03 Post subject: |
|
|
No, I cannot start Apache either from commandline or from services console. |
|
Back to top |
|